8Ball are a gang of six multi instrumentalists from Dublin with a taste for experimental guitar music , choral harmonies , live electronics and sampling . In terms of comparisons they have been likened to everyone from SFA and Broken Social Scene to LCD Soundsystem and Animal Collective.


8Ball are six long time friends and collaborators with a taste for experimental pop music, noise emitting machinery and the oddities of this life. Beginning as a laidback acoustic outfit drawing influences from the Beatles and low fi Americana , they soon discovered amplification and electronics and began writing tunes that would eventually form the basis of their self titled debut album which was released in 2006 to widespread acclaim. This culminated in a Best New Irish Act nomination at the Meteor Music Awards that year and a stand out appearance to a packed out Crawdaddy tent at the Electric Picnic festival.

Over time their live show began receiving rave reviews due to their experimental nature where members constantly change roles and share vocal duties. Now incorporating elements straddling many genres, their live show really has to be seen to be understood. Due to the ever growing reputation of the show , 8ball were then invited to showcase at London Calling , 'In The City ' in Manchester and 'Popkomm' in Berlin.

After a period of extended wranglings with their record label at the time , they went on into self imposed exile to write some new tunes and just
enjoy being a band again.

In April 2008 they decamped to sleepy East Sussex with a new batch of tracks and began work with producer Ian Caple (Tricky, Tindersticks , MBV , Sugarcubes). The result of these sessions is their second release "..With All Your Friends ", scheduled for release on their own Death of a Clown imprint in September 2009.

Lead off single ' Dig It ' is already receiving extensive airplay on 2FM and Phantom FM among others and the release of their latest offering is eagerly anticipated...


8Ball - 'Strange Boy ' single
Released 2006 on Lakota Records

8Ball - '8Ball ' LP
Released 2006 on Lakota Records

8Ball - ' Big Blue ' EP
Released 2007

8Ball - ' Dig It ' single
April 2009 on Death of A Clown Records

8Ball - '..With All Your Friends '
Scheduled for release September 2009 on
Death of a Clown Records.

Set List

Typical set list is 1hr but we're flexible , like ;)

1) Dig It
2) Munchausen Syndrome
3) Lets Get Dead
4) 21st Century Man
5) None of the Above
6) Everything
7) MN8
8) The Whoop Whoop Song
9) On Your Back
10) Automatic