Accumulated Gestures
Gig Seeker Pro

Accumulated Gestures

Band R&B Funk


This band hasn't logged any future gigs

This band hasn't logged any past gigs

This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


The Get Together EP (2010)
A Brand New Start b/w I Love You (But I Don't Know Why)


Feeling a bit camera shy


After 5 years of studio experimentation and a year of live performance, Perth-based neo-soul/funk band the Accumulated Gestures have released their long anticipated Groove Alive Records debut – 'the Get Together EP'.

The Gestures began in 2005 as studio-based songwriting and recording project by singer/songwriter/producer Donovan de Souza. Having grown up on classic soul and funk, 90s R&B, 60s jazz, singer-songwriters and alternative hip-hop, Donovan began writing songs for a then-unnamed musical project at the age of 16. While having spent his formative years singing in church choirs and having played in a cover band fresh out of high school, Donovan's passion for the 70s albums of Curtis Mayfield, Stevie Wonder, The Isley Brothers, Al Green and Marvin Gaye - as well as more recent works by Prince, Babyface, Maxwell, D'Angelo, The Roots, John Mayer and Fiona Apple - drew him to original music and the organic sound of a live band.

Enlisting the help of high school friend Daniel Harris (bass), an early lineup of the Gestures was formed in March 2005 but the project again went on hiatus until the addition of then-WAAPA students Tom Drummond (guitar) and Casey Ormond (keys). Casey's keen harmonic ear and soulful style coupled with Tom's punchy rhythm and lead guitar helped define the Gestures sound for the next three years before a complete live working band was formed in 2008. With the addition of John Brown on drums and Michelle Anderson (guitar) and Julien Zanin (bass) replacing Tom Drummond and Daniel Harris respectively, 2009 proved a breakthrough year for the band as they co-founded the Soulaverse Collective and gigged extensively throughout Perth. With the recent addition of Ben Smith (trumpet), Katie Hodson (trombone) and Sean Patrick Little (tenor sax), the eight-piece unit is on a mission to produce some of the finest original soul music to be played and recorded in Australia, with their Long Play debut album 'A More Permanent Impermanence' to be released in mid-2011.