BandHip HopWorld

Grade-A classic rhymes and complicated rhythms, incorporating sounds ranging from piano to big brass to jazz flutes and heavy percussion into hip hop.


Born in South Korea and raised in America by way of Baltimore, MD, A-Class found hip-hop in the early 90's by listening to dubbed cassettes and jumping in neighborhood and schoolyard ciphers. A-Class developed a fiery flow and in the late 90's linked up with Motive Response, a local emcee who helped Class develop a style and grow as an artist. The pair began writing verses and freestyling as a group, but before the new found duo had a chance to put something on wax, Motive Response passed away in 2003. By 2004 A-Class had thrust himself on to the local battle scene. After taking first place in two battles on the eastern shore of Maryland, Class continued on in 2005 with wins at Frostburg University's "Got Lyrics" emcee Battle and at the Pepsi Motion Tour Freestyle Battle at Hot Import Nights in Dulles, VA. Back in Charm City A-Class hooked up with the independent record label, Brake Fast Records LLC and made an appearance on their compilation album, "Divisions of Labor". Class continued his quest for bragging rights by participating in a slew of Baltimore battles during 2006. After taking second place in "Style Warz" and "One Mic - Legends of the Fall", A-Class made two appearances on Baltimore's own 92.3Q Jams' Tuesday Night Fights, an on-air emcee battle. He then went on to take first place in the "Hell is for Heroes" battle in Washington, DC and in "Who's Rhyme is it Anyway" at the Knitting Factory in Manhattan. Now signed with Brake Fast Records, A-Class has opened for a number of hip-hop legends including KRS-One, Ghostface Killah, Souls of Mischief, and the Boot Camp Clik. In 2007 Class dropped his debut album rightfully titled "Motive Response" with production by Tom Delay, P-Nyce, Rosirus, DJ Dyrti, and Big Whiz.


Motive Response (2007)

A-Class brings Hip-Hop back to life with his debut album, Motive Response. His Grade-A classic rhymes and complicated rhythms put mainstream music into after school programs. He twists each word to have dual meanings and uses metaphors from science to TV sitcoms. Using his voice and educated mind, he succeeds in telling a different story in each track with the same hustle and dedication.

The emcee's compilation has the main elements of a great Hip-Hop record. Its lyricist is on point, you can lap dance to some beats and head nod to others, and it's complete with witty interludes and old school samples.

The record is well produced by Tom Delay, P-nyce, Rosirus, Big Whiz, and DJ Dyrti. They allow A-Class to stand out as the artist, but keep the music well mixed through the speakers. no EQ-ing involved ladies and thugs. Each beat incorporates samples ranging from piano to big brass to jazz flutes and heavy percussion. Samples circa 1930s to present day gel completely with A-Class's solid tone.

The artwork on the anticipated album is also done by A-Class himself. His abstract graffiti has been seen all over Brake Fast Records and the Baltimore City Area.

The artist has a few jump-off tracks, itching to be singles off the record. Hope gives the album a chance to be in the clubs and climb straight up from the underground. Look out for A-Class's Motive Response record this summer on the Brake Fast Records website and at A-Class myspace.

Track List
1. We Are Here (3:06)
2. Make You Say (3:39)
3. Takes on Rap (1:54)
4. Artwork (1:45)
5. Radios (0:52)
6. Turnfiya (2:38)
7. Blackout (4:26)
8. Face Card (2:07)
9. A-music (2:44)
10. Sweat This (2:18)
11. And it Goes (1:48)
12. Classoutro (3:32)

© Brake Fast Records
Posted By: D.White
Genre: Hip Hop
Record Label: Brake Fast Records
Website: http://www.brakefastrecords.com
Website: http://www.myspace.com/aclasshiphop

Set List

Highly versatile artist capable of catering a set list to the crowd.