“With influences ranging from Echo & the Bunnymen, Ride and The Stone Roses to New Order and Psychedelic Furs, AEROVOX are architects of what they refer to as "post punk space rock" which they exhibit to great effect” Nick Marc – Tiswas NYC


Neo-psychedelic post-punk space-rock with a determined devotion to melody and harmony. AeroVox. The Sky Highatrists. Psycotrypotopical. Songs to move to. Songs to learn and sing.

AeroVox played their first show in the spring of 2003. Jeff Darien is the singer, one of two guitar players and keeper of the faith. Cy Donovan plays bass. Cy played bass with AeroVox in the spring of 2003. Jack Broad is the other guitar player. Sometimes he sings backing vocals. Darren O’Toole bangs the drums.

Within the last 12 months, AeroVox has already hit the Top 15 on national radio industry trade paper FMQB's "Sub-Modern Rock" Singles Chart as the only unsigned band in the Top 25; hit the Top 10 on U.N.C.L.E.'s New Music Weekly Chart "AFRO INDIE TOP 20" at #6 and A&R Worldwide reported AeroVox in the Top 25 at #21. Radio stations that supported and spun AeroVox include: WOXY - Cincinnati OH, WDYL - Richmond, VA, KACV - Amarillo, TX, WQXA - Harrisburg, PA, WARQ - Columbia, SC, KS95 - Iowa City, IA, KFMA - Tucson, AZ, KXRK - Salt Lake City, UT, WAVF - Charleston, SC, WANZ - Tuscaloosa, AL, KUPD - Phoenix, AZ, KPNT - St Louis, MO, WFNX - Boston, MA, KTCL - Denver, CO, WNNX - Atlanta, GA, KUSF - San Francisco, CA, WPGU - Champaign, IL, WRZX - Indianapolis, IN and WAXQ – NYC. WAXQ’s “Out Of the Box With Jonathan Clarke” named AeroVox’s one of their “Best Of 2004.” Radioio named AeroVox one of "Robert's Hot Picks" and was featured in their "Favs Of The Moment."

Also within the last year and a half, AeroVox has showcased at 2004 CMJ Music Marathon (2 shows), Boston NEMO, The Dewey Beach Popfest (Dewey, DE) and was named "Top Rock Act" of the 2003 M.E.A.N.Y. Festival (Musicians & Emerging Artists New York) beating out over 200 of the best New York area bands. The band had recieved an expanded profile in "CMJ New Music Report" as one of their "Top Unsigned Artists" to watch for. "Fearless Music Television," one of New York’s best outlets for showcasing up and coming independent rock bands, featured multiple AeroVox performances during its premiere season.

AeroVox’s first two EP’s, "The Sky Highatrist EP" and "Rewind 2004-1" have garnered almost universal praise: The Deli Magazine calls AeroVox a “Rare breed in that they are quite deserving of the significant praise they have received.” "CMJ New Music Report" compares AeroVox to everything from Echo & The Bunnymen, Swervedriver and Doves to New Order, The Stone Roses and Interpol but concludes that “While there may be hints here and there of other bands... The Sky Highatrist EP shows just how far the quartet has gone in surpassing its reference points and becoming something entirely new.” "Neon NYC," "I-Jamming" and "Jenyk/Dot/Com" describe AeroVox as “shimmering,” “proudly anthemic” and “not as heralded as they ought to be,” respectively.

AeroVox’s latest release on the band’s own Glister-Pulse Recordings, the 6-song EP "Psycotrypotopical," further expands on their neo-psychedelic post-punk space-rock with an even more determined devotion to melody and harmony. From the spooky and soaring opener “ClownsurrounD” to the Bunnymen-esque “Your Coat of Arms” to life-affirming “Mantra 333,” "Psychotrypotopical" is an eclectic mix of sounds, moods and textures that never sounds like anyone but AeroVox. Produced, engineered and mixed as usual by the enigmatic recording collective We-MoFo and mastered by Jon Marshall Smith, listen to "Psycotrypotopical" for yourself and you'll see what all the fuss is all about...


"Psychotrypotopical" Glister-Pulse 2006
"Rewind 2004-1" Promo EP 2004
"The Sky Highatrist EP" Glister-Pulse 2003

Set List

01 Clownsurround
02 Take Me Apart
03 Mantra 3.33
04 Shining Star
05 Summer's Gone
06 Song Song
07 Could’ve Been A Contender
08 Home
09 Chloride Flouride