Gig Seeker Pro


Band Rock


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"Poster Of The Week: Aftertraces and More At The Prophet Bar Friday"

This week's featured poster spiffs the Friday Aftertraces show at the Prophet Bar with Legacy Fails, The Room Sounds, Book of Sounds and Kirk Thurmond.

Clay Hervey, drummer for Dallas indie/alt-rock band Aftertraces, designed this one. I like how the coloring of the overlapping figures blends together and into the warm background. Even though all-caps usually bothers me, the lettering here looks good without sacrificing readability.

Despite the Aftertraces' prominence in this flyer, the Prophet Bar calendar actually lists the touring Legacy Fails as the headliner. Well, if the guys in Legacy Fails want their band name to be the biggest, then they can make their own stinking poster.

Thanks to all who submitted posters, and my apologies to anyone whose artwork I missed; I've been away from the office for a couple days, and had to schedule this post in advance. Keep the recommendations coming, though. I'll be sure to look at them all next week. - Dallas Observer


_AFTERTRACES_ - (self titled debut) - available on iTunes, Amazon, and CD Baby.



For many years, Dallas, Texas has produced bands with a predominately homogeneous style of music. This led progressive, indie rock band Aftertraces to be recognized as Dallas’ best-kept musical secret in their first year on the local music scene. But with the recent release of their self-titled EP, the secret is quickly getting out. Members of the four-piece have been playing together for almost ten years, and their history is evidenced on the record and in concert by the band’s tight sound and creative chemistry. Each new song redefines the parameters of their sound. Every live show raises the bar for performance. And a rapidly growing fan base bears witness to the unlimited potential of a band that will not settle for the limits the sky has to offer.

The diverse musical background of each member of Aftertraces creates the perfect blend of pure song writing, devoted musicality, and raw emotion wrapped in a unique sound that engages all listeners and leaves none untouched. With a sound reminiscent of early Radiohead, Aftertraces match dynamic music with thought-provoking lyrics that depart in their slightly more hopeful analysis of humanity. The vocals of lead singer Morgan Taylor, who also plays rhythm guitar, have been compared to Rufus Wainwright with the intensity of Incubus’ Brandon Boyd. Bassist Ryan Porter and drummer Clay Hervey have played together the longest and are both classically trained musicians, well versed in a variety of instruments, which enhances the creative spectrum of the band. Their solid musical foundation and passion for rock music gives rise to the driving rhythm of Aftertraces music. Lead guitarist Nathan Hervey completes the foursome, serving as the glue that unites thoughtful melodies with powerful rhythms turning cacophony into song.

In 2009, Aftertraces are not wasting any time building upon their early success of 2008. They recently performed with Hoobastank and Kool and the Gang, and though they have seemingly exploded out of the starting gate of secrecy, Aftertraces show no signs of slowing down anytime soon.