Alex Domschot

Alex Domschot

BandJazzNew Age

Alex Domschot is a highly credentialed musician and composer with an educational resume and list of performing credits as long as his arm. His release, Venusian Commute, is at once a testimony to his exquisite musicianship and a statement of uncommon sensitivity in addressing modern creative jazz.


Guitarist/Composer Alex Domschot’s recording and performing credits include Tony Bennett, Petula Clark, Rosemary Clooney, Harry Connick Jr., James Darren, Joe Farrell, Joel Grey, Ann Gillian, Freddie Hubbard, Jack Jones, Lanie Kazan, Morganna King, Jeff Klein, Steve Lipia, Henry Mancini, Maureen McGovern, Monk Montgomery, Maria Muldaur, Judy Neimack, Anthony Newley, Michael Pedicin, Jr., Bernadette Peters, Kristina Pruitt, Chita Rivera, Raoul Romero, Jack Sheldon, Vic Stevens, Third Premise, Three Degrees, and Kit Walker, among others.

Theater credits include Cabaret, Floyd Collins, Gemini, Grease, It’s Better with a Band (David Zippel), Jesus Christ Superstar, Joseph & The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, The Last Five Years, Mama Mia, Myths and Hymns (Adam Guettel), Oklahoma, Peter Pan & Wendy, Rent, Saturday Night Fever, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Alex attended Eastman School of Music under the tutelage of Gene Bertoncini, Bill Dobbins, and Ray Ricker. West Coast studies included private instruction with Howard Roberts, legendary session player and founder of GIT (Guitar Institute of Technology) in Los Angeles.

Mr. Domschot has served on the guitar faculty at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia; he has participated in master classes at UA, Duquense University (PA) and Rowan University (NJ), and currently maintains a steady roster of private students. Alex also assists in audio and video archiving at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia.

Domschot has performed on the ABC, NBC, FOX, PBS, BBC, French and Japanese television networks - and has led various ensembles in live broadcasts on National Public Radio. He has composed for Film, Television, and Dance, as well as Virtual Generation’s interactive DVD, " Le Groove".

Alex can be heard on Howard Isaacson’s newly released "Dreamland", and served as guitarist, composer, orchestrator and conductor on Sarah Lisitski’s debut recording, "All of Me". Domschot is a featured soloist on Matt Curran’s latest release, "Single Minded"; he also co-produced "Time For Three", the debut CD, featuring Curtis alumni Nick Kendall, Zachary DePue, and Ranaan Meyer. Alex also contributed mandolin and electric and nylon guitar on Vic Stevens' Mistaken Identities' upcoming release, "If People Could Talk", which features bassists Percy Jones and Michael Manring, among others

As a leader, Domschot’s latest release is "Venusian Commute" [Dreambox Media 1085], teamed with Marc Johnson (bass) and Vic Stevens (drums), to which he contributed all of the original material - in addition to serving as co-producer.

"He is regarded as a musician’s musician...the premiere soloist...Alex is that rare breed of performing artist with no artistic compromise in his personality. He has continued to pursue that infinite musical growth that eludes all but the most dedicated few."

Dean Witten, Ph.D. Music Dept. Chair, Rowan University

"It was an evening of guitar extravaganza...Domschot is destined for a paramount role in the music world."

The Sun

"Improvisation is Alex’s forte. He doesn’t discard traditional musical structures but attempts to transcend them - the result being an original musical entity."

Guitar Player

"Domschot responds with some deft impressionistic touches to help set the mood...this is jazz without any hyphens."


"...the fluidity of Frank Gambale and the esoteric, electronic touch of Allan Holdsworth. Domschots use of a mini string section has a thoughtfulness and elegance evocative of Claus Ogerman."

Record Breeze

"...displayed a mastery of sound, style and craft...Mr Domschot is a sonic shapeshifter."



Alex Domschot's latest release is VENUSIAN COMMUTE (Dreambox Media 1085) *currently getting radio and streaming airplay

Alex can also be heard on the following recordings:

Vic Stevens - If People Could Talk (Alternity)
Tag - Simple Minded (Futility)
Sarah Lisitski - All of Me (Grace)
Vic Stevens' Mistaken Identities - No Curb Ahead (Lolo)
Jeff Klein - L'évangile du Coeur (D-Tour)
Virtual Generation - Le Groove (Incius)
Howard Isaacson - DreamWorld (Sunrise)
Jeff Klein - fin (D-Tour)
Michael Pedicin Jr. - Angles (Optimism)
Geri Mingori Band - The Grass on the Other Side (HRZ)
Raoul Romero - Music of Raoul Romero (Seabreeze)
Chris Fio Rito - A Lovely Way To Spend an Evening (TDL)

Set List

Original compositions and Jazz standards