Andrew McKenna Lee
Gig Seeker Pro

Andrew McKenna Lee

Band Folk Acoustic


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos


The best kept secret in music


"Review of "Vortices""

...By contrast, South Carolinian Andrew McKenna Lee's "Vortices" originates from the abstract, mid-century modernism of lonely brass calls, screechy strings, and hard edged contrasting orchestral color... Lee's command of his style must be respected. His orchestration is precise, the composition balanced with clear directional goals and the means to get there. - New Jersey Star Ledger

"New Sounds"

"Arabescata" featured on WNYC's "New Sounds" series, hosted by Jonathan Schaefer.

Link below- must have RealPlayer installed- commentary begins at 23:15. - WNYC

"New Hampshire Outlook Interview"

A video interview from the spring of 2003 when I was in residence at the MacDowell Colony. The program aired on NHPTV's "New Hampshire Outlook."

Link is below- segment begins at 18:05. RealPlayer required. - New Hampshire Public Television




Feeling a bit camera shy


Described as “full of imagination and technical expertise,” Andrew McKenna Lee’s music is an organic synthesis of contrasting elements from a variety of styles and influences. A native of Charleston, SC, he began his musical studies on the guitar at age twelve and soon after went on to pursue composition. In recent years, his music has been performed by such ensembles as the Brentano String Quartet, The American String Quartet, ensemble ereprijs, Talujon, the New Jersey Symphony, Kroumata, Proteus, Janus, and eighth blackbird.

His works have been presented at many festivals, including the International Music Festival of Toroella de Montgrí, Spain, International Gaudeamus Week of the Netherlands, the Stockholm Arts and Sciences Festival, the Aspen Music Festival, and the Norfolk Chamber Music Festival. His music has also been heard on WNYC’s New Sounds series with host Jonathan Schaefer and featured in a segment of New Hampshire Public Television’s weekly broadcast, New Hampshire Outlook.

As a guitarist, he has given solo recitals and performances in venues such as New York City's Symphony Space, the Harris Theatre of the Atlantic Center for the Arts in Florida, Princeton University’s Taplin Auditorium, the Royal University College of Music in Stockholm, and in conjunction with the Aspen Music Festival. He has also collaborated in live performances with other artists, including renowned bassist Mark Dresser, cellist Frances-Marie Uitti, the New York based chamber ensemble Janus, and composer Steven Mackey.