Andrew Morgan

Andrew Morgan


Morgan's songs are as tender in tone as they are ambitious in arrangement, interweaving cello, piano, and strangely forlorn guitar into a series of mellifluous cinematic lullabies. -UNCUT Best New Albums of 2004


Misadventures in Radiology is the ambitious debut LP from Andrew Morgan. At once an homage to the hypnotic continuity of late 1950’s Cool Jazz and the kaleidoscopic invention of late 1960’s British Pop, the album bears a sound that straddles decades, continents, and genres. Core sessions were recorded in Los Angeles at Elliott Smith’s New Monkey Studio with a host of musicians including, most notably, former Built to Spill cellist John McMahon. In an effort to channel the spirit behind Miles Davis’ Kind of Blue, hundreds of song takes were improvised, with the most inspired renditions being selected for development. Orchestral overdubs were then painstakingly added in Lawrence, Kansas over the course of several month at the University of Kansas’ Murphy Hall and Campanile Tower.  Completed in September of 2003, Misadventures in Radiologyis already garnering comparisons to Brian Wilson’s 1966 masterpiece, Pet Sounds.


Misadventures in Radiology (Sonic Boom Recordings) -- released April 5, 2005.

Set List

01. Prologue
02. Plight of an Exile
03. Aligned on the Steps
04. Preacher's Ego
05. Misadventures in Radiology
06. This Awful Room
07. Joann, You'll Be Happy Soon
08. Shoulder Your Shovels
09. Supine on the Covers
10. Brushes to Bronze
11. Aligned on the Steps (Reprise)
12. Morpheus Calls

Songs: 2.5 - 6 minutes in length
Average Set Length: 60 minutes
Covers: The Smiths (A Rush, A Push, and the Land is Ours, Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want)