A Play On Words

A Play On Words

 Clearwater, Florida, USA

A Play On Words is an indie act from Tampa. With an unique, progressive sound and emotive lyrics, they are quickly grabbing audiences online as well as on the stage.


A Play On Words was first established as an acoustic act. Frontman Charlie Foti went to the studio to record a four song demo during Spring Break of 2009. Since then he as constantly been writing and developing his own style of indie acoustic songs. During the summer of 2009, Charlie played shows non-stop, acquiring a different group of fans at every show. In the winter of 2009 Charlie recruited his brother Andrew on percussion and friend Stephen Juliano on bass. They played their first show as a trio New Year's Day 2010. Fifteen days later they recorded their EP "A Piece Of Wonder". APOW then continued playing with local acts around Tampa for a few months. Once gaining enough popularity to throw a headlining EP Release show, they threw a release show in May of 2010 to a completely packed cafe with a capacity of 120 people. This was an astounding feat for the band, considering all the work they put into it. Charlie and Stephen were in 11th grade at the time, and Andrew was only in 8th. They even contacted the local newspapers and music magazines and they helped promote the show. With two EPs now on iTunes, APOW gained online popularity as well as local. After a few member changes Stephen switched to electric guitar and Evan Hildreth started playing bass. A Play On Words is still playing as many shows as possible while in high school. They have had the opportunities to share the stage with Universal Motown's He Is We, Tooth & Nails' Poema, Queen's Club, Swimming With Dolphins, Hopeless's Amber Pacific, Victory's The Scenic, Drive Thru's Halifax, Loveway's Carter Hulsey, and many more. APOW is currently in the studio recording for their much anticipated full length.


The Acoustic EP (2009)
1. Here's Your Song
2. Criss Cross
3. This Is Why
4. They're (Not) Us
5. All Those Bulletins

A Piece Of Wonder EP (2010)
1. Only At The Right Time
2. Day One
3. This Is Why
4. Criss Cross
5. Not Today
6. The Mess
7. T.J.S.

Set List

Losing Ground
It's No Secret
River of Sleep
All My Hopes
The Mess
Tight Rope Walker