A Welcome Distraction
Gig Seeker Pro

A Welcome Distraction

El Monte, California, United States | SELF

El Monte, California, United States | SELF
Band Alternative Rock


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


A Welcome Distraction (Released April 2010)
(All songs available on iTunes, Amazon, and many other sites. Most songs can be heard on IMRado and other major interenet radio sites.)
Song Listing:
1. Allison
2. T.F.M.
3. Backstabbing Conductress
4. Forevermore
5. Miss You
6. Lucifina Hellbound
7. Hold On
8. Average Joe
9. Tuesday
10. Floodlights
11. Fatty Fatty



A Welcome Distraction’s music is forged from the depths of human emotion, and energy. They are rapidly becoming a powerful force in LA and OC’s music scene. They bring a heavy alternative Rock feel. Some of their musical inspiration comes from bands such as Green Day, Foo Fighters, Pantera, and Weezer.

The four members began their musical careers playing with different bands in different music scenes. Javier, the vocalist/rhythm guitar/song writer, began his career in music in high school and was the singer and songwriter for the Punk band R.V. Alex the guitarist has put together a number of bands and projects in the heavy metal underground of LA. He has been signed to three previous times, most notably to Dark Realm Records with his former band Satriarch.

The latest addition to A Welcome Distraction is Hector on bass guitar and Cole on drums. They also have both played with numerous bands. Hector has put down his guitar used in metal bands and picked up a bass to be able to play with Javier and Alex. Cole came out of the Musician Institute, being one of twenty-three to graduate, and joined the band as he saw major possibilities to grow as a drummer and become the hard hitting heart beat of the band.

A Welcome Distraction has established the respect and trust with one another that allows them to play, and create powerful music together. The unique sound they create and brought them together caught the ear of CEO of Wright Records, Nathan Wright, where they would be offered a record deal and recorded their self titled debut album in January 2010 at the California Sound Studio.