Ayla Brook

Ayla Brook

 Edmonton, Alberta, CAN

A flaxen nugget of Prairie goodness, complete with dusty lungs and stray bird song – cough it up, hear them tweet. panpot.ca


So, here's the scoop.
You may know Ayla Brook as the singer-songwriter for AA Sound System, and their albums as Lily Plain…You’re Hardly Poor and Laissez-Faire. Well, when Marek moved to Victoria, and Lane plotted to move to Toronto (but started a music school instead), it looked Ayla wasn't going to have a band to play in.
But Ayla had half a dozen old songs and a handful of fresh ones to clear out of the song closet before restocking it with brand new material and figuring out what to do about new batteries for his sound system. So it was back to the Pine Ridge Farm in Lily Plain, Saskatchewan, with John Blerot engineering and Danny Michel producing (and a couple ladies and a baby to keep everyone sane), to lay the tunes down one warm June week in 2007.
No (real) drums were used. Just foot stomps and hand claps in the wooden high-roofed room. Late night rummy gang vocals were added to creaking floor boards and acoustic strums. Everyone recording in the same room - no isolated control room here. The wind sneaking onto the tracks disguised itself as tape hiss along with the clinking of glasses and stray bird songs.
After The Morning After is an album about love, about comraderie, about being in the places you belong. From the gentle bounce of “Wake Up Early” to the dreamy soulfulness of “Wonder”, Ayla and friends have created a kitchen party of the heart.


Since releasing "After the Morning After" Ayla has put together a hot 5 piece band to play the album live. CBC radio recorded the band at the release party for national Canadian broadcast on Canada Live.
That performance can be heard at the Concerts On Demand website here:


Ayla Brook
"After the Morning After"
Saved by Radio
Release Date: June 24, 2008

AA Sound System
Saved By Radio/New Saskatchewan Records
Released Sept.6, 2006

AA Sound System
“Lily Plain, You’re Hardly Poor”
Saved by Radio/New Saskatchewan Records NSR100104

Key Data
Release Date: Oct.1, 2004
File Under: Electro-Roots Folk Pop

Set List

Two 45 minute sets all original music.