Bad Captain
Gig Seeker Pro

Bad Captain

Montréal, Quebec, Canada | SELF

Montréal, Quebec, Canada | SELF
Band Rock Pop




This band has no press


November 9 2012:
The Future Awaits - Single
- Free single available on Bandcamp and music video.
1. The Future Awaits (Album Mix)
2. The Future Awaits (Music Video Mix)
3. The Future Awaits (Demo)

May 22 2012
Where We Belong - Full-length Debut Album
- Independently released album available on iTunes and Bandcamp, Deluxe Edition available in physical format.
1. Walking Disaster
2. The Future Awaits
3. All That Matters
4. Tangled (Feat. Gabe La Rue)
5. Crash & Burn
6. You're Not One Of Us
7. Way Too Easy
8. You & Me Against The World
9. It Didn't Have To Be So
10. Big Mistake

May 1st 2012
All That Matters - Single
- Free single available on Bandcamp.
1. All That Matters

June 7 2011
You're Not One Of Us - Single
- Single available on iTunes
1. You're Not One Of Us

February 22 2011
track map liberty ep - EP
- Re-released free EP from their previous band Tack Map Liberty.
1. On Top Of The World
2. Time Will Tell
3. We Are
4. I Think You're Dead To Me
5. You Will Never Be The One



Bad Captain formed in 2008 when Pat started writing Rock songs (as opposed to his earlier mellow acoustic material). He recorded them and taught them to three of his musician friends to play on stage. They formed a band called Track Map Liberty. As time went by, more songs were composed, shows were played, musician friends were replaced by other musician friends for all sorts of reasons and they eventually ended up with this current and definitive lineup just about a year ago.

Back then, the band was still called Track Map Liberty and ‘Bad Captain’ was only supposed to be the name of a song that Alex wanted to write the lyrics to. It was going to be about how they saw their lifestyle at that time – “We had been doing a lot of drinking and partying, self destruction, a band member had just left the band and we were pissed, we had made all kinds of bad decisions and some pretty big mistakes. But we moved on, we learned a lot from it all and no one got hurt – physically.” They compared their lives to a ship on an ocean and thought “I’m not a very good captain! I’ve gone off course and it might be time to get back on track!” and that was going to be to premise of that song.

In the summer of 2011, the guys thought it’d be a good idea to change band names. TML had seen so many lineup changes and a lot of ups but way more downs. The time had come to reinvent themselves and change their band name for something with more commercial potential. They knew that ‘Bad Captain’ represented them well enough to make it their band name so instead of writing a song about the philosophy described above, they made it the baseline for their whole operation. Track Map Liberty became Bad Captain! They have since dedicated most of their free time off of their “9 to 5” jobs to making energetic and catchy Rock songs with lyrics that make you realize that it’s okay not to be perfect, that your mistakes define who you are and that no matter what, you just have to push and carry on! Bad Captain delivers an uplifting, unifying, motivating and positive message and isn’t afraid to make you headbang every once in a while.

After playing many shows in the Montreal area between 2009 and 2011 and after releasing their first EP entitled “The Track Map Liberty EP” in January 2011, Bad Captain took a break to write and record what is now their debut album: WHERE WE BELONG. A first single entitled “All That Matters” was released on May 1st 2012 and is available for free on their official Bancamp page. The album was released on May 22nd on iTunes and Bandcamp. A Deluxe edition is also available physically at Bad Captain’s live performances, on their online store and at selected Archambault locations. Their second single “The Future Awaits” will be released this fall and their first music video is currently in post-production. They are also working on booking two US tours for 2013.

Band Members