Barbaric Yawp

Barbaric Yawp

 Brooklyn, New York, USA

Barbaric Yawp is an exciting new four piece band (guitar/vox, bass, drums, and sax) from Brooklyn that offers a unique blend of rock, blues, funk, and jazz.


When four professional musicians got together in Brooklyn, the result was the exciting, genre-transcending sound of Barbaric Yawp. The original compositions combine orchestrated sections reminiscent of big band swing and funk, the looseness and freedom of a jazz quartet, the funky sweet sound of soul, and bebop style unison lines all delivered with barbaric doses of blues and rock.  In the words of Relix magazine's June 2014 issue: "The quartet has developed excellent chemistry over the last two years, and the copious interplay and improvisation between the musicians always keeps the live shows interesting and electrifying."

Barbaric Yawp began as a trio in the summer of 2011 with Peter Fabrizio on vocals and guitar, Cesare Papetti on drums, and Ray Cetta on bass.  In 2014 Dan Cooper replaced Ray on bass, and saxophonist Scott Hoefling joined the group.  It was this Barbaric Yawp lineup that went into Seaside Lounge in Brooklyn in early 2015 to record the first Yawp album, Listen.  This debut album was released on October 30, 2015 as Barbaric Yawp hosted their first record release party at New York's oldest rock club: The Bitter End.

Please check out the album on our Bandcamp or on our site, and sign up to our mailing list or like us on Facebook to get the latest updates. Barbaric Yawp is also available to play events. Contact us at


Listen (2015)
1. The Sneaker Song
2. She's Got That Soul
3. You Know How I Feel
4. Listen
5. Gimme Sympathy
6. Waitin Around
7. Goin to the Courthouse
8. Dark Glasses

Barbaric Yawp Live at The Bitter End (2014)
1. She's got That Soul
2. The Sneaker Song
3. Where The Buses Don't Run/Goin to the Courthouse
4. Use Me
5. She Can't Get Me Down
6. We're Goin Right
7. Dark Glasses
8. Gimme Sympathy
9. Listen