Bethany and Rufus

Bethany and Rufus


Bethany & Rufus' CD is stunningly simple and beautiful, a magical blend of Bethany's electrifying voice and the mind-blowing cello playing of Rufus Cappadocia. With a deeply soulful sound Bethany & Rufus have pushed the boundaries of American folk into the territory of groove, jazz and sweet soul.


This duo, comprised of the honey-voiced Bethany Yarrow (daughter of famous folk singer Peter Yarrow) and the world-renowned cellist Rufus Cappadocia, has been described by reviewers as "simply astonishing". Their debut CD, "900 Miles" is stark, haunting and utterly gorgeous -- drawing comparisons as easily to Cassandra Wilson as the Cowboy Junkies, Nina Simone as Jolie Holland. From dusty American field recordings to modern jazz, from delicate folk pop to the griot rhythms of Africa. While focusing their attention on traditional songs from America’s gritty folk past, BETHANY & RUFUS refine their vast musical influences through the minimalist combination of voice and cello, where intense groove meets sweet, heartbreaking soul.

Although Bethany absorbed much of this music by osmosis in her early years, it is her born-to-perform, mesmerizing stage presence coupled with her deep knowledge of this material that validates her and Rufus’ approach as they turn roots songs inside out, finding a vibrant inner pulse that resonates with an “in the blood” authenticity that used to characterize the music of decades past, but is all too rare in today’s music scene.

Rufus Cappadocia is one of the leading voices of cutting edge cello today. His jaw dropping technique and musicianship inspire awe in even the most discerning critics, who have characterized his playing as “powerful…exploring territory that is positively otherworldly.” Rufus has appeared on CD’s with Ross Daly, Kif with David Fiuczynski, DJ Cheb i Sabbah, Esma, The Paradox Trio, Odetta, Michael Blake, and Tamalalou, among others. Rufus has also performed with Kasse Mady, Aretha Franklin, The Black Rock Coalition, Theodossi Spassoff, Seamus Egan, Eileen Eivers, Cheick Tidiane Seck, Vernon Reid, and many more. After years of experimentation and creative revision, Rufus plays a self-designed five-string electric cello that extends the bass range of the cello and through amplification expands its tonal possibilities, creating new sounds by what was once known only as a classical music instrument.


"900 Miles" will be released in the US on Hyena Records in January 2007. In the Europe Bethany and Rufus are on Daqui Records. "900 Miles" is currently available for purchase at any Bethany and Rufus performance or on their website, BETHANY & RUFUS is currently receiving airplay on Philadelphia's WXPN, Portland's KBOO, New York's WFUV.

Set List

1. 900 Miles
2. East Virginia
3. Linin' Track
4. The Swallow
5. St. James Infirmary
6. Isn't That So
7. If I Had My Way
8. No More Songs
9. Forgiveness
10. Asturiana