Biggles Flys Again

Biggles Flys Again


A wistfully enchanting brand of day-glo alt pop, mixing the chamber pop of Harry Nilsson and the hi-fi pomp of Supertramp with the lo-fi scratchiness of The Magnetic Fields and multi layered introspective vocals of Elliot Smith.


Remember when you used to buy albums in a shop? Remember reading the lyrics in the liner notes on the bus home before you even heard the songs? Remember when you only owned 8 albums and you knew every single tiny note of every song on each one? 'Remember Saturday' is that kind of album. Like the ones people used to make. An album that you can listen to all the way through. Full of songs written with the deep understanding of a lifetime spent listening to pop music.

“The songs seem forged in the comforting heat of influences as sterling as The Beatles, Jens Lekman, Elliot Smith and Richard Swift.” The Irish Times

“The songwriting reveals some trace of a golden age when pop music could spring from simple everyday events to evoke an emotional response across the nation”

Since Biggles Flys Again self-released their debut album 'Remember Saturday' in March 2013, they have forged their own distinct path, making intelligent pop music with a diy spirit and a nerdy attention to detail. The CD release of the album included a hand made screen printed book with 20 pages of artwork. 'Remeber Saturday' went on to recieve glowing reviews with the Sunday Times naming it as their Album of the Week. The album was praised for it's mixture of vintage analog and glitchy lo fi sounds, and the songwriting prowess of founder Conor Deasy

“Deasy has a canny knack of writing tunes the right side of familiar, effortly references the past without being smothered by it.” The Irish Times.

Biggles Flys Again have brought the same attention to detail to their live shows, launching the album with a sold out show in the unique surroundings of Smock Alley Theatre. The band has also played at the Electric Picnic, Kilkenny Arts Festival, Indiependence and prestigious support slots with Jens Lekman, This is the Kit and Mumblin Deaf Ro. They will finish 2013 with live dates in London and Paris as well as their first headline show in Whelans on the 24th October. They have also begun work on the follow up to 'Remeber Saturday'.

“Remember Saturday has a charm and creative streak which suggest Deasy is only warming up” The Sunday Times

“Unassuming, unpretentious and brilliantly executed” THE SUNDAY TIMES
“A wistfully enchanting brand of day-glo alt pop” SUNDAY BUSINESS POST
“Beguilling lo fi pop” IRISH INDEPENDENT
“Astute Indie pop” HOT PRESS
“A thrilling restatement of what pop music can achieve” WEARENOISE.COM
“A multi faceted old fashioned nostalgic pop album” NIALLER9


2007 Biggles Flys Again - EP - CD and Download

2008 Chocks Away - EP - CD and Download

2010 10 Songs for Lonely Hearts - Album - Cassette

2011 Summer's Coming Soon - Single - Download

2012 Friends - Single - Download

2013 Remember Saturday - Album - CD and Download

Set List

Full band Set

1. Friends
2. Library
3. Old Pop Song
4. Roadkill
5. Run
6. Imaginary Fire
7. Chambers
8. A Simple Plan
9. Singalong

Solo Set

1. Friends
2. Library
3. Roadkill
4. Imaginary Fire
5. Chambers
6. Morning
7. A Beginning not an Ending
8. Summers Coming Soon
9. Farewell