Bob Mamet

Bob Mamet


Bob Mamet is a renowned Jazz pianist and composer who's chart topping CD's have garnered worldwide acclaim. "Impromptu" is the new album from the Bob Mamet Trio. Bob's vibrant and lyrical brand of acoustic Jazz creates a signature sound that is at once classic and modern.


Bob Mamet is an internationally acclaimed Jazz pianist and composer. Born and raised in Chicago Illinois, he attended the prestigious Peabody Conservatory before heading west to Los Angeles to begin a career as a composer and studio musician. Over the next several years he composed music for over a hundred projects in T.V. film, and advertising, in addition to touring as a sideman and bandleader.

Bob's distinctive mixture of Jazz styles and composition caught the ear of the major record labels, and in 1994 he signed with Atlantic Records. Bob recorded three highly successful albums for Atlantic, plus additional recordings for Sony and Warner Brothers. His collaborations with artists such as Alex Acuna, Larry Carlton, Eric Marienthal, Gerald Albright, David Benoit and countless other top artists led Jazziz magazine to proclaim him a "brilliant composer" who gives his players "an intelligent, thoughtful, and vibrant musical landscape in which to work."

During this period Bob released a string of hit records, garnering extensive radio airplay worldwide. Most notable among these was "Greenstreet," a hybrid of acoustic and contemporary Jazz idioms. Greenstreet captured the imagination of Jazz and Pop listeners alike, topping the charts for 7 weeks, and remaining to this day a fixture on the radio.

Bob has played sold out shows from large festivals to renowned Jazz clubs, incorporating vibrant and diverse styles into his acoustic piano performances. He has been described as a "master of melody and structure" by The San Francisco Chronicle; "adventurous… sparkling… intriguing" by Jazz Times Magazine; and the Chicago Sun Times calls him simply "The Natural."

Bob has continued to compose music for a variety of projects, including the critically acclaimed score for the film "Lakeboat." It features a 60-piece orchestra with individual Jazz Trio vignettes, each one corresponding to a different character in the film. The lyrical acoustic Jazz approach Bob utilized in the soundtrack became the catalyst for his latest CD Impromptu.

Impromptu marks Bob's long awaited return to the recording studio, and is his first as the Bob Mamet Trio. The ten original compositions are a modern take on the classic Jazz trio, invoking the memory of lyrical Jazz pianists such as Bill Evans and Vince Guaraldi. The stellar sidemen on the album include virtuoso bassist Darek Oles, and legendary drummer Joe La Barbera.


Impromptu (Album- New Release: Recently reached #2 on the Jazz Charts)
Day into Night (Chart-topping album)
Greenstreet (Single- 7 weeks at #1)
Signs of Life (Critically acclaimed debut Album- Grammy awards entry list, 1995- Best Contemporary Jazz Album)
Adventures in Jazz (Top 10 Album)
At Midnight (Top 10 Single)
Morningside (Top 5 single)
News from the Blues (Top 10 single)

Set List

1) Impromptu
2) Jazzhouse
3) Venice Waltz
4) At Play
5) On Green Dolphin Street
6) Cats on the Roof
7) Until Morning
8) Keziah
9) It Don't Mean a Thing
10) Adventures in Jazz
11) Observations
12) Woodpecker
13) Danzon Allegretto
14) Illinois Road
15) Nautical Mile
16) Israel
17) Blackbird
18) How My Heart Sings
19) Blue Silver
20) Recorda-Me
21) Bob's Blues
22) Nardis
23) Night song
24) Peri's Scope
25) Someone to Watch Over Me
26) Blue Bossa
27) Solar
28) Impromptu (Reprise)