Boyz N Da Hood

Boyz N Da Hood

BandHip Hop

Debut Album- Over 100,000 copies sold 1st week Block Ent./Bad Boy South


When Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, Ren, and Eazy-E (R.I.P.) brutally bum rushed the scene almost two decades ago with cinematic street tales of guns, girls and gangbanging, they filled a definite void in rap music when syrupy sweet hip hop byproducts dominated the airwaves. Over Dre’s driving, funk-filled drum tracks, NWA broadcasted from the bloody blocks of Compton, Calif. and forever altered rap music.

Steeping to the forefront in a time similar to when spine-chilling murder scenes were painted red by the godfathers of gangsta rap, Atlanta-based four-man ghetto mafia Boyz-N-Da-Hood sees that same empty space in music today. As the south’s most dangerous group, Big Duke, Jody Breeze, Big Gee and newest initiate Gorilla Zoe pull that same type of jack move on the industry with just as much attitude.

Armed with full banana clips of bass-heavy, head-banging beats and rhymes rough enough to slap the taste out of your mouth, they vividly reintroduce the rough and tumble traps of the A with the Spring 07 release of their sophomore Block Entertainment/ Bad Boy South jack move Back Up N Da Chevy. Fueling up with runaway street single “G’d Up,” they head back to the block atop mid-tempo production of horrific, low-pitched horns, a jumpy string section and funk-laden synthesizers.

“Y’all better tighten up on your seat belt. It’s gone be hot,” says Gee with anticipation. “That new Boyz N Da Hood is gone kill them.”

Dropping their self-titled major label debut in 2005, the group was handpicked and formed some three years ago by Block Entertainment CEO Russell “Block” Spencer. Adding momentum to their movement, the group received an added boost after a seminal multi-million-dollar label deal between Block and music mogul Sean “Diddy” Combs in early 2006. They earned instant stripes and handed platinum ghetto passes with their debut smash single “Dem Boyz.”

“At the time, the music game got real watered down as far as we were concerned. The music wasn’t reflecting a gangsta sound,” Duke explains. “People were comparing us to NWA not be ‘cause we sound like them. It was the rawness, the gutter, going back to the streets. We give the same formula.”

Slightly different from the original lineup which included platinum-selling DefJam artist Young Jeezy, the group’s newest enlistee to man the position of The Snowman is hard-nosed ATL hired gun Gorilla Zoe. While Gee represents A-town’s Mechanicsville community, Duke holds it down for Decatur and Jody corresponds to the country roads of Griffin, Ga., Zoe claims every highway, byway and side street of the A. And his new position is a perfect fit.

“Being in this situation is an honor. I’m fans of Boyz-N-Da-Hood. I love the music, and I love the movement of Block Entertainment,” Zoe says proudly. “I respect the slick talk of Jody Breeze. I respect the gutter of Big Bee, the OG qualities in the play calling of Duke and the boss status of Block.”

But even with new blood in the fold, BNDH still delivers the same gritty street verses that granted them platinum ghetto passes from hood to hood. Proof is in the strong arm title track. Over futuristic keys, faint bongos and back-breaking bass, they ride dirty through the hoods of Atlanta.

Riding alongside West Coast don Ice Cube on “Choppers,” they empty verbal clips atop a driving bass track, faint synthesizers and gun shots cocked. And on the danceable cut “We Ready,” they put in work with label mate Yung Joc chanting on the hook. Making nonbelievers respect their gangsta, they divulge their nonstop hustle on top of choppy sonic quirks and trademark heavy drums.

“We are reaching a lot of different people in one group. I think we speak to so many people cause there are more have-nots in the world than people who got it,” proclaims Duke. “We speak for people trying to get it, out there hustling and bumping their heads and still trying to find their way.”

Much like their Compton counterparts who paved the way for gangsta rap, Boyz-N-Da-Hood doesn’t make music for the radio. On-location street reporters who bring the same jarring brutality of life to vivid musical projections, BNDH puts the gangsta back into rap with Back N Da Chevy. Buckle up. It’s going to be a bumpy ride.


Artist: Boyz N Da Hood
Album: Boyz N Da Hood
Label: Block Ent./Bad Boy South
Release Date: June 14, 2005
Soundscan Total to Date: 527,378

Album Tracks
1. Album Intro
2. Boyz N da Hood (Interlude)
3. Dem Boyz
4. Felonies
5. Look
6. Gangstas
7. Don't Put Your Hands On Me
8. Bit***s & Bizness
9. Trap Nig**z
10. Still Slizzard
11. No Talkin'
12. Happy Jamz
13. If U a Thug
14. Lay It Down
15. P***y M.F.'s
16. Keep It n' da Hood 2Nite

Top 10 Markets:
1. Atlanta, GA
2. Washington, DC
3. Chicago, IL
4. Los Angeles, CA
5. Detroit, MI
6. Philadelphia, PA
7. New York, NY
8. Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX
9. Cleveland, OH
10. Miami, FL

Billboard Chart History Peak Position
2005 Dem Boyz- Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks 15
2005 Dem Boyz- Hot Rap Tracks 13
#1 R&B Debut
Top 5 Billboard 200 Debut

Set List

-Dem Boyz
-Everybody Know Me
-Bite Down
-G'd Up