Gig Seeker Pro


San Luis Obispo, California, United States | SELF

San Luis Obispo, California, United States | SELF
Band Americana Alternative


This band hasn't logged any future gigs

This band hasn't logged any past gigs

This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"The San Luis Obispo-bred quintet fronted by Adam Pasion was ahead of the curve, considering the hills indie-rock has headed for in the interim. “Outlaw rock,” Briertone called their sound, but it was not so much lawless as it was just plain audacious." - Kevin Bronson of BuzzBands.LA

Briertone's video for "I Am Jacob" won the "Unsigned On Demand" competition for Fuse On Demand, submitted through Sonicbids for December 2011. The video is featured on Fuse On Demand the entire month of January 2012. - Fuse On Demand

"Go ahead: Try to label them." - Kevin Bronson of The Los Angeles Times - Los Angeles Times

It’s only a four song EP, but over the course of 21 minutes, it makes a pretty lasting impression. They’re not your average rock band. In fact, I don’t even know if I would call it rock…for the uninitiated, these guys have a banjo, and they know how to use it. Earlier efforts from Briertone were more upbeat, but this EP is dark, brooding, and atmospheric (check out the new video for “I Am Jacob” for an excellent representation of what this band is all about – spoiler alert: it’s seriously DARK). The production is slick, but allows the band enough room to breathe and move through their own ambience. It’s a beautifully striking record, and I can only hope we get more music from Briertone sooner rather than later. - Smash Magazine

Unlike the thorny, dead 'n' vacuous irritant of it's debut album title, these seven songs confidently breathe with vitality and life. With bands like The Regal Line joining a revival of roots rockabilly (of sorts); authentic, gritty Western music like this should find a quick audience. Don't confuse Briertone with some enthusiastic young whipper-snappers jumping on a trend, however. These guys ride a melody with a controlled patience that relies on the strength of their playing and the simplicity of their songs. With bottleneck slides and percussive brushes in hand, you'd think this veteran quartet had beenaround for ages. The only thing i found missing was a whistle and the sound of spurs digging into the underside of a horse. I've really missed this kind of slightly progressive melodic rock not heard since the demise of Black Eyed Sceva... And i think i like this even better. - HM Magazine

The second release from Briertone finds them drifting slightly away from their dark version of alt-country, and improving in the process. Present is the eclectic mixture of rock elements and un-rock instruments (banjo and mandolin?), but the Lynyrd Skynyrd influence seems to lean toward contemporary rock artists. The result in an interesting 7 songs that leave the listener intrigued by the band's creativity. Their songs feature a plethora of unexpected notes, and picking out where a chorus is, or whether there is one to begin with, can be difficult. While this is not bad by any means (and is in fact quite pleasing), the sheer uniqueness can almost become a deterrent. Hopefully it won't be, because "Confessions Of The Wicked" seems to get better with repeated listens and is one of the more impressive short CDs I've heard in a while. - HM Magazine

"Seeing Briertone live isn't just going to a show - It's an awakening. It's something you really just have to experience for yourself." -

"A southern rock experience that defies your usual playlist standards." -


"Sky's Torn Open"
Track Listing:
1) Pearls To Ashes
2) I Am Jacob
3) Flaming Arrows
4) Revelation
5) Behold

Track Listing:
1) Cheers
2) Run Your Mouth
3) Behold (Acoustic)
4) Strawfoot
5) Philip And I

"Confessions Of The Wicked"
Track Listing:
1) Confessions Of The Wicked
2) First And Last
3) Pact With The Devil
4) Things We Do
5) Slowly But Surely
6) Rebel Kid
7) A Vile Thing

Track Listing:
1) Don't I Dare
2) Twice A Week
3) Better Days
4) Tragedy
5) Slowly But Surely (Acoustic)
6) Swallow Your Shame



San Luis Obispo, California’s very own, Briertone, is a vibrant, gritty, and often dark, indie/southern/country-rock five piece that developed a style they like to call “Outlaw-Rock”. They have DIY’d it through four releases and numerous national tours. With their powerful live performance and their foot stomping progressions, audiences leave their shows as changed people. They have been bringing a new and fresh movement to music, and continue to persevere, hitting the west hard with touring, and delivering a much needed musical originality and eclecticism to all who listen. Be awakened! Listen to Briertone.