Brothers Chaffey
Gig Seeker Pro

Brothers Chaffey

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Band Americana Rock


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"The Brothers Chaffey: Harbord Street Soul"

Hailing from Ottawa, an area with a deep musical tradition, the Brothers Chaffey are a credit to their origins. Based on their Harbord Street Soul CD debut, it’s hard to realize these super-talented siblings are still in their mid-twenties, since their seamless combination of confident vocals, spot-on guitar work (by brother Curtis), heartfelt lyrics, and overall roots authenticity, imbue this enterprise with the cool aplomb of maturity and experience.

Matthew, with his high grit sandpaper delivery is a natural successor to a long line of jaded, yet perceptive troubadours, ranging from Johnny Cash, Kris Kristofferson, Billy Joe Shaver, to Tom Waits. The results are an intoxicating blend of Honky Tonk, Rockabilly, Country, Folk, Soul, and Cajun, all tinged by a Bluesy feel. This brotherly duo is oftentimes evocative of such hybrid outfits as the Byrds, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Gram Parsons, and for good measure, there’s even a hint of early Rolling Stones. All these components, plus a crack trio of Canada’s best roots players in keyboardist Michael Fonfara, drummer Mike Fitzpatrick, and bassist Alec Fraser contribute to an absorbing listen. Any progressive and/or specialty radio station is bound to be mightily impressed. This eclectic potpourri of down-to-earth, well-crafted songs, wrapped up in seductive grooves is the perfect way to ring out the old year and welcome in a new one. Several numbers just leap out at you, such as Jolene: a prime cut of outlaw Country a la Johnny Cash, that’ll put you under its spell with that twanging guitar and those assertive, appealingly gruff vocals. The Phone is another exceptional number, perfectly displaying the Rockabilly chops of these retro wonders, and it’s all enveloped by that warm and propulsive keyboard work of Fonfara.

I’m Still Waiting is one spicy musical enchilada with dollops of Tex-Mex hot salsa, the kind of free-spirited mover that the likes of the Texas Tornadoes (Doug Sahm, Flaco Jiminez, and Freddy Fender) would have felt proud to be associated from. Wrapped Up In You runs the gamut from Blues, Folk, Soul, to Country, and the blend is a mesmerizing. The real deal! Everything about this release is exceptional, and it speaks volumes about the magnificent talent we’re privileged to have here in Canada. Frankly, Harbord Street Soul is a proud achievement, and it merits my highest possible hosannas. Livinblues is absolutely thrilled in taking the leading role in introducing it, and of course, the Brothers Chaffey to a world-wide audience. We know we have a winner here, and we know it deserves to be rated right up there with the very best of 2005’s best releases. Get it! - Gary Tate/



Produced by Michael Fonfara and Alec Fraser

1. Drums, Guitars & Things
2. Baby, Ooh Baby, Ooh Baby
3. I Heard You Call My Name
4. You've Got To Be Strong
5. The Phone
6. Runaway
7. Come Back To Me
8. Wrapped Up In You
9. Jolene
10. Good Woman
11. Don't Leave Me Like This
12. I'm Still Waiting



The Brothers Chaffey have been singing together for over 4 years as a group, but these two Ottawa based musicians are, in fact, actual brothers. Matthew Chaffey sings lead vocal and plays rhythm guitar, while his brother Curtis Chaffey plays lead guitar and sings vocals as well. Their rock 'n roll, country blues sound comes from an appreciation of traditional North American music styles and their experiences fronting acts on the road regionally and nationally. The two have been writing and performing in various groups, but it was not until 2005 that they moved forward with recording and releasing their first CD “Harbord Street Soul”.

With help from Michael Fitzpatrick (Downchild Blues Band) on drums, Alec Fraser (David Wilcox/Jeff Healy) - bass/engineer/co-producer and Michael Fonfara (Downchild/Lou Reed) - co-producer/keyboards, the Brothers recorded a twelve song debut featuring all original material
that had veins of country, soul, blues and rock. Matthew Chaffey's soulful vocal sound moves comfortably through many different styles and his well rooted guitar playing keeps the songs grounded and driving. Accompanied by his younger brother, Curtis's cool-handed telecaster twang adds country textures to songs like "Baby, Ooh Baby" and "Come Back to Me" then changes gears with tasteful blues solos on "You've Got to Be Strong" and "The Phone".

2008 finds them recording material for a new CD to showcase their roots influenced song writing and their rock, country sound. Ken Freisen(Tragically Hip, Blue Rodeo, The Sadies) and his Almonte Ont. studio are where the Brothers have landed for this new recording. Band mates Nick Diak , drums, and Dave Macdonald, bass, are contributing their talents and all parties involved are looking forward to touring in support of the new CD this summer.
“The Brothers Chaffey are brave old souls in a brave new world.” - Sylvie Hill (Ottawa Xpress)