Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

We are epic, instrumental post-rock. Chiaroscuro brings a beautiful sound of melodic, soft guitar playing that builds into a crescendo of bruting bass and strong heart-pounding music that leaves the crowd wanting more.


Chiaroscuro is an Indiana based post-rock band that formed in 2009. Joshua Carlton (guitar) Matt Rubadue (guitar) Jeremy Hall (bass) Sean King (drums/guitar) came together with the idea of forming a purely instrumental project. The band flew to Texas to record their EP with the famed John Congleton (Modest Mouse, Explosions In the Sky, This Will Destroy You). The self-titled EP was well recieved and 2010 saw the group touring with post-rock giants This Will Destroy You. Chiaroscuro are currently in the studio recording a new EP that is due to be released in late 2010.


Chiaroscuro- Self titled EP
Philosophy of Time Travel is played on Now Like Photographs satellite radio.