Crescent Lament
Gig Seeker Pro

Crescent Lament

Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan | Established. Jan 01, 2007 | SELF

Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan | SELF
Established on Jan, 2007
Band Metal Gothic


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos


The best kept secret in music


This band has no press


Still working on that hot first release.


Feeling a bit camera shy


    Founded in 2007, Crescent Lament—a band that was specially mentioned and recommended by heavy metal band Chthonic’s leader Doris in an exclusive interview published by the magazine Terrorizer in 2011—is a gothic metal band of the island country of Taiwan in East Asia.

    By integrating sorrowful stories in Taiwan with gothic metal music, Crescent Lament presents to listeners aesthetic melodies with a touch of grief. With relentless efforts, their work is recognized by prominent artists. In 2009, the band opened Lacrimosa’s Sehnsucht world tour concert in Taiwan. Subsequently Crescent Lament was invited by Chthonic to open their world tour concert in Taipei. In Epica’s 2013 world tour, Crescent Lament served as the support band of Taipei concert.

    Crescent Lament released their debut album Behind the Lethal Deceit in November 2011. Inspired by the civil wars in the former Yugoslavia, Crescent Lament related the tragic history in the country to Taiwan. Sharing a similar historical context, Taiwan has seen ethnic conflicts and outside invaders, which offered an anti-war theme to the album. The band ingeniously borrowed the dark and sorrowful elements from gothic metal to depict the foolishness and vice of war. Behind the Lethal Deceit has drawn attention of international music critics and received applauses.

    In June 2015, Crescent Lament released their second album Elegy for the Blossoms. Elegy for the Blossoms is a conceptual album recounting the sorrowful story of a Taiwanese geisha that happened in the late Japanese period and early Chinese Nationalist Party period in Taiwan’s history. The main character, A-hiong, was developed based on the life of Taiwanese geishas in history, and the story describes the helplessness of Taiwanese geishas behind their smiles when greeting their clients, as they had no say over their own lives.
    Different from the first album Behind the Lethal Deceit, the latest album Elegy for the Blossoms was written in Taiwanese, and blends Taiwanese history, culture, folk music, and gothic metal, while using traditional Taiwanese and Japanese instruments to create a sorrowful yet beautiful atmosphere. The album cover was designed by well known Taiwanese illustrator KCN, with a modern retroactive image.

• Members:
  - Vocals                                 Muer Chou
  - Drums                                 Komet Chou
  - Keyboards & Vocals           Warose Chen
  - Guitars                                Wat Chiu
  - Bass                                    Wick Hsu
  - Erhu                                    Jedi Yeh

• Major Tour Archive:
  - Megaport Festival, Kaohsiung, 2015 
  - Beastie Rock Festival 4.0, New Taipei City, 2014 
  - Tainan May Jam, Tainan, 2014 
  - Beastie Rock Festival 3.0, New Taipei City, 2013
  - Formoz Festival, Taipei, 2013
  - Hohaiyan Rock Festival, New Taipei City, 2013
  - Supporting Epica Taipei Concert, Taipei, 2013
  - Beastie Rock Festival 2.0, New Taipei City, 2012
  - Extreme Camp Vol. 2, Seoul (South Korea), 2012
  - Behind the Lethal Deceit Releasing Tour, Taiwan, 2011
  - Supporting Chthonic Taipei Concert, Taipei, 2009
  - Supporting Lacrimosa Taipei Concert, Taipei, 2009
  - Formoz Festival, Taipei, 2008

• Discography: 
  - Album Elegy for the Blossoms / 花殤 (2015)
  - Album Behind the Lethal Deceit / 末路之召 (2011)
  - EP The Forgotten Winter (2008)
  - EP Crescent Lament (2008)