Dante & the Hawks

Dante & the Hawks


Like birds of prey, Dante & the Hawks are perched and ready for a musical incursion of untold precedence! Okay, Maybe the analogy isn't perfect, but it definitely conjures some pretty cool imagery, which is exactly what they're going for!


In 2009 Oklahoma singer songwriter Dante Schmitz joined forces with three Tulsa musicians to form Dante and the Hawks. With lead guitarist Ted Scott, (formerly of Congress of a Crow), bassist Promo Dave (formerly of Band Camp), and drummer Matt Thomson, (formerly of Mid West Kings). The Hawks turned Dante's compelling acoustic act into a full blown rock show. Over the past few years there have been a few additions and changes to the band's lineup, but the sound and style of the Hawks are still rooted in Dante's Americana songwriting vibe. 

Dante was born and raised in Norman, OK and has been performing throughout the U.S. as a solo artist for the past six years. Some of his eclectic musical influences include, Tom Petty, Ryan Adams, Ray LaMontagne, MGMT, Ben Kweller, Bright Eyes, Cold Play, Damien Rice, Death Cab for Cutie and even Kanye West.

In 2009 the Hawks enlisted the help of indie rock legends Brad Pemberton and Billy Mercy, formerly of Ryan Adams and the Cardinals, to record at West Wood Studio in Nashville. They released their single, "I Can't Wait" on itunes, where it has been very well received.

In 2012 Dante and the Hawks released their self titled EP "Into the Wild" which independently sold almost 5,000 physical copies and downloads. More recently they have just begun production on their first full length record which is set to be released in the Summer of 2015.

Since forming the band, Dante & the Hawks have performed at venues throughout Oklahoma and Arkansas like Cain's Ballroom, Tapwerks, Electric Circus, the Marquee, Ida Red, the Hunt Club, Cherokee Casinos, Kickapoo Casino, Baker's Street Pub, and at Pre Game Shows for the NBA's OKC Thunder. Dante & the Hawks was featured on the main stage at the Bikes, Blues and BBQ Festival in Fayetteville, AR in 2013 and was also featured on the "Oklahoma Stage" at the 2014 Center of the Universe Festival. The band is very involved with the local music scene and performs 4-5 shows a month.



Written By: Dante Schmitz

by Dante Schmitz

One only one, You're all I want.
Two only you, knew what I was going through.
Three all we need, is you and me and in time we'll see what for.
Across the floor, I was waitin and wanting more.
Five you're on my mind, and all this time we've been so alive.
Six we may kiss and fall away from all of this.

Oh we don't mind all the steps between
You're heart and mine.
We just grow and we rise,
Up above everything in this cluttered life.
And I know everything will be alright,
With you by my side.


Dante and the Hawks, 2009
Footprints, 2010
Into the Wild, 2011

Set List

Dante & the Hawks Originals

1. Meet me Halfway
2. Burden
3. This Love
4. Tonight Tonight
5. Into the Wild
6. All All Good
7. My Greatest
8. Born
9. Lay me Down
10. Bitter Sweat
11. Up All Night
12. Can't Wait Much Longer
13. Uncovered
14. Panic
15. Long Way Down
16. You Are Mine

Dante & the Hawks Cover Songs

Current Hits

1. Love Stoned by Justin Timberlake
2. Kids by MGMT
3. Use Somebody by Kings of Leon
4. A-Punk by Vampire Weekend
5. Seven Nation Army by the White Stripes
6. Float on by Modest Mouse
7. I’m Yours by Jason Mraz
8. Hey Soul Sister by Train
9. Break Even by the Script
10. Animal by Neon Trees

Classic Rock

11. Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking for by U2
12. Pink Houses by John Mellancamp
13. Free Fallin by Tom Petty
14. Come Together by The Beatles
15. Stand by me by Ben E. King
16. Summer of 69 by Bryan Adams
17. Jack and Dianne by John Mellancamp
18. Shook me All Night Long by ACDC