Darren Kozelsky Band

Darren Kozelsky Band


Darren Kozelsky's sound echoes from the dusty plains of West Texas, but he throws in an edge that really gives his style originality. The combination of Darren's exceptional talent and the support that he's garnered from industry peers has given this bright talent a real jump start. - John Dickson


From the thick of the Red Dirt music scene comes a debut artist with a hypnotizing talent that takes us back to the traditional sound of country music. In the onset of what will surely become a most respected career, Darren Kozelsky comes into radar with his debut release, Let Your Mind Fly, on Dipphire Records. Texas born and bred, Kozelsky is the spittin’ image of that contagious gene that runs through the Red Dirt blood stream. A San Angelo State University graduate, and on the Dean’s list no less, his emerging aptitude as a singer/songwriter has been recognized and embraced by his audience and peers alike. Wade Bowen is but one of many in the “brotherhood” who senses the inevitable success of this newcomer, proving that good word travels fast. “Darren Kozelsky has one of the best debut albums of any artist I have heard from in this scene. His powerful voice and remarkable character will take him extremely far.”
Sharing the writer’s log with A list versifiers such as Red Dirt God father, Bob Childers, Tom Skinner, Jonny Burke and Sean Faires (Dedringers), and Mike McClure was initially a nerve racking experience as Darren admits. “It was very intimidating when Mike stepped in to assist in writing. It was a really big deal being that I am such a big fan of Mike’s. I was a wreck.” As the formation of the record progressed, Darren found himself facing his songwriting fears while being held close under the wing of Mike McClure. Reverently known for his signature tales including “Rather Have Nothin’,’” which will appear on Garth Brooks’ February release of The Lost Sessions, McClure has also become one of the most coveted producers in the Red Dirt music scene. His savoir faire for making records is wide spread including all three major label releases from touring super giants, Cross Canadian Ragweed. "Working with Darren has been one of my favorite projects. Let Your Mind Fly is the best record I've ever recorded with the most country sound I have done in a while. He has a powerful voice and we have all the top-notch players on it. I'm very proud of it.” Some of the prime time players include legendary Texas steel player and GRAMMY award winning producer, Lloyd Maines, fiddle player Cody Braun from Reckless Kelly.

Darren’s warm country cadence ushers us into “Cool Grass” with the ease of that George Straight-esque southern comfort, and a fluent nature inherited in part by the unmistakable whine of Texas steel player, Lloyd Maines. Its enlightened attitude, as the record’s title suggests, sets a tone for what would be a solid body of “chicken soup for the soul.” The collection is finely “tuned” and highly caffinated with tunes like “Loving You" and “Mind Over Matter’.” The vagabond saunter of “Running Kind" is a widely received theme in the country music curriculum, and it goes hand in hand (like all the best combinations) with the tale of chance encounters that can lead to change of heart in “Restless Spirits.” It’s the every day candor of life that makes the best stories whether it is in the form of a paperback or a record, and this one is not without its tearjerkers. The imploring words from a lover’s heart in "Love was Just A Joke,” lends us mercilessly into the gorgeous serenade of “Name on Her Wing,” an ode that would make even the most cynical of broken hearts believe again. Let Your Mind Fly should most definitely hold high rank in any country music lover’s collection. Although highly addictive, it’s quite good therapy.


Darren Kozelsky’s debut album “Let Your Mind Fly” was recorded in September and October of 2005 at Cedar Creek Studios in Austin. The album was produced by Mike McClure and engineered by Adam Odor. It was mixed and mastered by Joe Hardy at Casa de Joe. Contributing musicians were Tom Skinner – bass guitar, Eric Hansen –percussion, Chris Claridy – electric guitar, Travis Linville – electric guitar, Mike McClure – acoustic guitar, Lloyd Maines – pedal / steel and dobro, Cody Braun – fiddle and harmonica, Riley Osborn – piano and B3, Jamie Wilson – harmony vocals, and Amanda Brown – harmony vocals. The album reflects the songwriting talents of Mike McClure, Tom Skinner, Scott Evans, Darren Kozelsky, Jonny Burke, and Sean Faires. The first single “Mind over Matter” is already receiving radio play throughout Texas. The album is scheduled to be released in early spring of 2006.

Set List

Down Into Black
Cool Grass
Why Do I Dream
Loving You
Mind Over Matter
Love Lays Before You
Running Kind
Restless Spirits
Love Was Just A Joke
Standing In A Moment
Other Side of Morning
Messed Up In Love
Name On Her Wing