Davy Cowan
Gig Seeker Pro

Davy Cowan

Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom | SELF

Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom | SELF
Band Folk Singer/Songwriter


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


The Journey (PPCD004) - 10 Track CD album

Released April 2011

Track Listing: 1. Sinners & Dreamers 2. Cant Stop The Rain 3. Shipwrecked 4.The Journey 5. It’s Summertime 6. Oh little Town 7. Silence Never Sleeps 8. 1000 & 1 9. Watching You 10. Wood For The Trees

Fragile People (PPCD003) - 14 Track CD Album

Released May 2005

Track Listing: 1. Moving On 2. Tender Sleep 3. Song For Summer 4. Show Me The Way 5. The Gatecrasher 6. Fragile People 7. Each Day I Die 8. 16 & Reckless 9. Emily's World 10. Unfortunately Yours 11. Cynical Man 12. Last Stop 13. The Likes Of Me 14. Praise


Feeling a bit camera shy


Davy Cowan grew up in a house where Folk music & Country & Western took centre stage - with the likes of Hank Williams, Charlie Pride, The Dubliners & Johnny Cash all regulars on the turntable. Earliest memories of musical inspiration came from the traditional Hogmanay party’s in the family home; his mother at the core playing the organ to a sing along session that lasted well into the next day!

Born in Dingwall in the Scottish Highlands, Davy was brought up in the nearby town of Invergordon.

He attended Invergordon Academy, and it was here that he and his friends formed their first band "The Yobs", a Punk inspired Clash/ Stranglers type outfit. They played their first gig at the school disco to an audience of enthusiastic kids & bewildered teachers on a rainy Monday evening in 1980. (Other incarnations were “The Borstal Residents” and “The Royal Family”.)

Davy was an original member of the Highland Celtic Rock Band COINNEACH. With three critically acclaimed studio albums ( Life In A Scottish Greenhouse, Ice Trees & Lullabies & Protected?) and many tours and festivals at home and abroad, Coinneach built up a solid fan base - and in the process earned themselves the reputation as one of the best Kick-Ass Celtic Rock bands on the circuit.

The band finished on a high note at the end of 2004 with a live performance at the Aberdeen Hogmanay celebration along side Deacon Blue & Hue & Cry in Union Street, Aberdeen to around 40.000 revellers.

2005 saw the release of Davy’s debut solo album “Fragile People” which showed an unpretentious and straight to the point approach to his song writing.

On the live front Davy has kept up a busy schedule - sometimes as a solo artist, and quite often with his old COINNEACH fiddle player Rachael Parker. As a duo the pair still make frequent trips back and fore to Germany, where they’ve built up a reliable fan base and made a lot of good friends over the years.

In recent times Davy has had the pleasure of sharing the bill with some of his favourite artists including: The Levellers (Drunk In Public), Miles Hunt (The Wonder Stuff), Tom Hingley (Inspiral Carpets), Hugh Cornwall (The Stranglers), Deacon Blue & also toured with Gaelic Rockers Runrig during their “Proterra” tour.

Since 2007 Davy has being working on occasion with ex-Alarm guitarist Dave Sharp, who has been a great help during the recording of his latest album “The Journey”. The two musicians have also played some momentous shows together as well.

More recently Davy has been recording some new material with the help of the legendary Martin Stephenson from The Dainties.
In 2008 Davy gathered together a bunch of finemusicians to form a group called “The Storm Chasers”. The band features Robin Abbott on Bass & Derek Urquhart on drums, (both from Inverness Alt country combo “Lush Rollers”). Also Rachael Parker - ex COINNEACH fiddler, Alan Leckie (organ) and Steve Spence, another ex COINNEACH man on keyboards. Each of them bring their own subtle flavour to the brew.

The Storm Chasers draw upon a range of material featuring songs from both Davy's solo work and COINNEACH, adding a new & refreshing twist to many of the old favourites. With performances at Rock Ness, Belladrum and the Loopallu Festival the band have become firm favourites on the Highland festival trail.

For 2011, Davy is proud to announce the release of his new album entitled “The Journey”.

The new album features ten self penned tracks which may be familiar to those of you who have caught some of Davy’s shows on the live circuit.