Death Ships

Death Ships


Death Ships set sail from the great landlocked state of Iowa, where they blend musical elements of rock, folk, country, and pop. Named after a nautical obsession, many compare this Iowa City band's sounds to that of The Shins, Wilco, and Iron and Wine.


Setting sail from the landlocked environs of Iowa City, Iowa, Death Ships are not what you'd expect. Rather than a band full of heshers, overrun with long flowing locks and cranking out screeching metal from Marshall full stacks, the band's sound eschews this notion by mixing up elements of rock, folk, pop, and alt country to conjure up thoughts of The Shins mixed with Wilco. Started as a solo project by lead singer and guitarist, Dan Maloney, in 2001, Death Ships now has a full crew, and is presently promoting their recent release, "Seeds of Devastation," self-released Sept. 5th, 2006 on their own label, Faithful Anchor Music. This new release builds on the momentum the band has established from playing with the likes of The Decemberists, Pinback, Tapes n' Tapes, Low, Jets to Brazil, and Sound Team, as well as playing frequently at such Chicago ports of call as The Metro, Schubas and The Empty Bottle. The record also comes on the heels of earlier success with their single, "Thelma Lou," specifically chosen and released by Deep Elm Records as part of their "This is Indie Rock" compilation series, and which debuted at Number One on University of Iowa's college radio station, KRUI. Lauded by both press and blogs alike, Death Ships were declared in the May 2006 issue of Alternative Press magazine as "Unsigned Band of the Month." "Seeds of Devastation" was recorded with crunk hip-hop/rock impresario, and old friend, Matt Malpass (Young Bloodz, Lil Jon, Juvenile), in the summer of 2005 in Atlanta, capturing all the songs in a week. With a new album under their belt, as well as new management company, Undertow Music (Pedro the Lion, Centro-matic, Jay Bennett of Wilco), the band is gearing for smooth sailing on the road for the rest of 2006.


Seeds of Devastation: 11 song album officially released Sept. 5th, 2006 on Faithful Anchor Music

This is Indie Rock, Vol. II compilation: Song "Thelma Lou," released May 10th, 2005 on Deep Elm Records

Faithful Anchor Tape Club: Self-released cassette self-released Oct. 6th, 2003 with Infinite Jest.

Set List

Songs In Set Rotation

1.) It remains to be seen
2.) Symmetrical Smiles
3.) Little Mystery
4.) Great American
5.) Echo Children
6.) Story Never Gets Old
7.) Guilt to Burn
8.) City Never Sleeps
9.) Snake Strut
10.) Young Lovers
11.) Sweet Devotion
12.) Twilight Years
13.) History Forgotten
14.) Failed Religions
15.) Sarah
16.) Big One Coming

Sets typically run from 30 to 45 minutes, but can play multiple original sets running from 1-2 hours