Diana Yukawa
Gig Seeker Pro

Diana Yukawa

Band Classical EDM


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"Album Review by Classical Crossover.co.uk"

The Butterfly Effect is Diana Yukawa's first serious attempt at classical crossover music and it is much in the same vein as Vanessa-Mae's Storm and Subject to Change albums, though that is not to say that Yukawa is a copycat. Violinists often surround their strings with club friendly beats and though Yukawa is no exception according to the majority of the album, she does offer variety in arrangements and the drum machine, when present, never overbears Yukawa's instrument. They only complement Yukawa's performance, and they never stray away from the point. The fact that Yukawa and team never lose sight of what their songs are supposed to mean, is obvious when you find how well the music fits the song titles!

Yukawa co-composed ten tracks on the album, all of which have a distinctive sound set apart from the others. Her string almost always has an Eastern flavour, combining her divided heritage (half Japanese, half British) in her compositions. The relationship between the east and west is most evident in tracks like 'Magnolia', where the violin generates the exotic atmosphere, but keeping to the traditionally western pop song structure. The song has an ideal melody line to be sung, and if it were, would have an immensely catchy and remarkable chorus. The Robert Miles cover, 'Children', also demonstrates the correlation between the two worlds, giving the well known track a more memorable make-over than the recent rendition by Escala, as Yukawa never forgets that it's the violin that is the star of the show.

'My Instinct' will probably be the first song to catch your attention, providing that strong Eastern experience no matter where you are whilst 'Flying' provides the album with the most melodic arrangements, thanks to the sprinkled piano throughout. The piano features regularly on the album, most often played by none other than Yukawa's sister, Cassie. The pair bounce off each other with conviction and mutual understanding, especially in the touching 'La Priere'. The remaining highlight, 'Little Prayer', added as a bonus track, features a beautiful female vocal backdrop, chanting a large way through.

Yukawa has not only unique material, largely self-penned, but she certainly has a spice of her own concocting. This album holds content that is dying to be discovered, and it also holds much promise for Yukawa's artistic future. This is a must purchase for the string lover. - http://www.classical-crossover.co.uk


NEW ALBUM - The Butterfly Effect (Oct 2009, Sony Music)

1. Overture (for Noma)
2. Flying
3. Children
4. Sail Into The Sunset
5. My Instinct
6. The Visitor
7. 3000 AD
8. Summer Elegy
9. Magnolia
10. Gone Missing Girl
11. Snow Globe
12. La Priere
13. Lagoon
14. Little Prayer (For themotion picture Shizumanu Taiyo)

Her Japanese debut album ‘La Campanella’ released in 2000 on BMG RCA became a No.1 best seller and was released in the UK under the title ‘Elegy’ in 2001 to rave reviews including Classic FM’s Henry Kelly. Her second album – works by Saint-Saens with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra was released in 2001.



Diana Yukawa is an award winning solo violinist. Following her 2 successful solo albums with BMG Japan Diana has signed to Sony Music Japan as an international artist. Diana’s new album “The Butterfly Effect” was released on 21st October 2009 in Japan and comprises a new modern sound for the violin, far removed from her previous classical albums.

At only 24, Diana has lead an extraordinary life. Born in Tokyo to an English ballet dancer and a Japanese banker just 3 weeks after the 1985 Japan Airlines disaster that took her father’s life, Diana has crossed cultural boundaries in her personal life and is pushing to cross even further in her professional life as a talented and much celebrated violinist.

Diana has lived in London her whole life but made an enormous impact in Japan, becoming an overnight child star after playing a memorial service for her father and the JAL victims. Media in the country announced her as a music sensation.

In the time since the release of her first two albums Diana has been developing her own unique, distinctive sound for the violin. Teaming up with renowned producer, Andy Wright (Massive Attack, Jeff Beck) - Diana has created a brand new, innovative, modern sound.

The Butterfly Effect is a groundbreaking album featuring 13 original tracks and 1 cover. Through the years since being discovered by BMG at age 13, Diana has found her passion and natural talent for creating her own music resulting in this novel album.

Listeners of The Butterfly Effect are taken on a wonderful journey through the varied pace of the tracks, each of which are held together with a certain magical ambience, uniting them all perfectly.

A track from Diana’s album also features on the soundtrack for the newly released film, Shizumanu Taiyo which is Japans biggest budget feature film.

Diana’s colourful career to date has seen her perform at many prestigious venues. More recently she has dazzled audiences with her new music at venues including to 60’000 people at a Khalifa Stadum in Qatar, to a sold-out Hollywood Bowl and at Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi. Diana’s new music is also taking her on a fantastic collaborative journey which includes the likes of Jeff Beck, Paul Oakenfold and Craig Armstrong.

Diana began learning the violin at 5 years of age Diana and has studied with the great master, Ruggiero Ricci, as well as such distinguished Professors as Maurice Hasson, Hu Kun, Rodney Friend and Natasha Boyarsky.

Diana’s ambition as a musician is to demonstrate that the violin is a diverse instrument, capable of fitting into a wide range of music genres. Diana will once and for all break the common misconception that the violin is purely a classical instrument.