Drifting in Silence

Drifting in Silence

BandEDMNew Age

Shimmering ambiences driven by groove rhythms and punctuated by instrumental riffs and snatches of concrete sounds irresistibly create the sensation of movement through regions of light and shadow.


Drifting in Silence Music
Derrick Stembridge, the composer and multi-instrumentalist behind Drifting in Silence, creates light, ambient musical soundscapes that make listeners feel as if they are floating on clouds. Stembridge composes and plays all instruments in his music, including (but not limited to) guitar, bass and keyboards. Stembridge's music takes listeners for a joy ride never experienced before, a ride that impacts the senses in more than the simply auditory dimension.

The Sound
"Dancing washes of synths and gentle, percolating percussion... (Stembridge) employs every beat and tick as compositional elements, most finely illustrated on the sailing 'Apart.'"
- Aaron Ashley / XLR8R (USA)

The Band
At the helm of Drifting in Silence, Stembridge brings forth music that incorporates groove rhythms, instrumental riffs and concrete sounds, inventing an ambient sensation of movement through regions of light and shadow. His CD, Truth, ranges from meditative tone poems to relaxing easy chair grooves. Developing his ideas further in Ladderdown, Stembridge adds sonic depth and timing textures. His latest, Fallto, takes his previously-explored territory one step further, adding edgy vocal textures and punchy rhythms that carry the listener on a tour de force of aural experience.

His song, After the Storm, was featured in the movie Remy-x. Stembridge also lent his mixing skills to the theme music for the new video game Maelstrom from Code Masters (www.codemasters.com/maelstrom/).


chameleon - EP
ladderdown - LP
truth - LP
Fallto - LP

Set List

1. uphillbattle
2. shadow
3. oracle
4. process of now
5. why
6. ladderdown