Hailing from Fremantle - Western Australia's infamous alternative capital, Dusk's rise into the local music scene has been a steady and natural progression. Making their debut part way through 2003, the majority of the last three years has been spent writing and moulding the blues groove sound they now like to call their own. A four piece acoustic based band, Dusk consists of singer songwriter Brad Treeby (23) on guitar and vocals, Benn Landers (23) on drums and percussion, Rohan Irvin (23) on bass, and younger brother Matt Irvin (21) who adds elements of lap slide, trumpet and blues harp to the sound.

Drawing collectively on the inspirations of contemporary roots artists, old school jazz standards and the roots surf culture, Dusk's intimate songs combine a soulful groove with smooth vocal melodies that take the listener from feet tapping to an engaging enjoyment. The acoustic, slide and trumpet playing in combination with a smooth vocal style and dexterous percussion give them a unique sound within the acoustic roots genre. Recent highlights include being 2004 state finalists in the National Campus Bands Competition, and winning the 2005 Rio Festival's 'Blast off' competition in Kalgoorlie. Regular performances throughout the last three years has seen Dusk teamed with some of Aussie's premier acoustic roots bands including supports for national touring acts like Paul Greene, Gus and Frank, and Mick Hart along with locals like Josivac, the Dave Mann Collective and Saritah. Recent times have also seen Dusk tour extensively throughout regional WA, particularly throughout the southwest region.

Dusk's newly tracked debut ep entitled 'The Fragile Escape / Butterflies EP' (released March 2006) was produced at Fremantle's Studio Couch with Shaun O'Callaghan (John Butler). It contains 5 tracks from the extensive Dusk catalogue including the groove driven Fragile Escape and the summer spinner Butterflies. The tracks combine organic grooves with elegant arrangements and conscious lyrics.


'The Fragile Escape / Butterflies EP' - produced by Shaun O'Callaghan (John Bulter/ Gyroscope), this debut EP by Dusk is available through Canopy Records and Green Media Distribution. Both singles have recieved consistent national airplay on triple J's Roots n All program since their release in March.