D.V.S* (Derek VanScoten)

D.V.S* (Derek VanScoten)

 New York City, New York, USA

Brooklyn based producer D.V.S* (Derek VanScoten) creates that elevated feeling in the listener’s chest with his guitar soaked experimental dance beats.

He has releases on Soulection, 1320 Records, Cantora, Daly City, Electronic Musician Magazine, & Octave Memory Tapes.

video @ vimeo.com/dvsmusic


Brooklyn based producer D.V.S* (aka Derek VanScoten) creates that elevated feeling in the listener’s chest with his guitar-soaked experimental dance beats.

He currently has music released on Soulection, 1320 Records, Cantora Records, Daly City, Electronic Musician Magazine, and his own label, Octave Memory Tapes.

Over the past few years, D.V.S* has spent considerable time on the road with acts like Random Rab, Bluetech, Tipper, FreQnasty, Marco Benevento, Big Gigantic, Lotus, MartyParty, emancipator, Ana Sia, and Beats Antique.

No stranger to the live band scene, he has also performed as a respected multi-instrumentalist with acts as diverse as DJ Logic, Devotchka, The Motet, and the Boulder Philharmonic.

While his current beatsmithing pushes the boundaries of futuristic rhythms and timbres, D.V.S* hasn’t always experienced music via a laptop. Influences and performance history includes 19th century romantic music, motown, swing, bossa nova, afrobeat, traditional folk music from multiple cultures, hip hop, and of course, rock n’ roll.

Recent Press:::::::::::::::::::: ::::::::::::
• A shift in where the electronic frontiers are headed." -TheUntz.com
• "It’s as though he crossed sound waves with Bon Iver, only to then meet Flying Lotus, all the while running alongside Thom Yorke." -DigBoston.com
• "The vitality of the New York City / Brooklyn lifestyle can be felt in every track, and each tune can be dissected over and over, producing new emotions and discoveries each time." Earmilk.com
• “D.V.S* combines beautiful melodies, super fat beats, and jazz guitar power. Very positive sounds from a unique, new voice in modern music…highly recommended.” Brian Haas, Pianist – JFJO
• “Amon Tobin and Nina Simone would be proud to embrace his style as their own.” Lost in Sound (NYC/ Boston)
• “Downtempo Track of the Year for 2010 (Attunement).” Welcome Hohme (NYC)
• “Keep climbing higher with D.V.S*. Today you take on the mountains, tomorrow the universe.” Dublab (L.A.)


This is a selected discography. Full discography available at http://dvsmusic.com/discographymusic
"Coming Up For Air" -Nov 2011
30 song double album released on Octave Memory Tapes (NYC) and Gravitas Recordings (Austin, TX)

"Belongings (D.V.S* Remix)" Nov 2011
Remix of Bear Hands' "Belongings" on Cantora Records (MGMT, Francis and the Lights)

"Jet Stream (D.V.S* Remix)" on Emancipator's "Remixes" June 2011 on 1320 records/ Hydeout (Japan)

"Can't Hold Love" on Michal Menert's second release due January 2012 on Pretty Lights Music

"Ruberjunk"- Electronic Musician Magazine Mixtape Vol 2. Released April 2011

"Newell and Doran Mix- Live at Dublab LA" January 2010

"Beyond the Looking Glass" January 2010

"Before I Sing" October 2009