East of West

East of West

BandJazzAdult Contemporary

East of West's debut album Crossing Borders, is smooth jazz with a high-powered kick! If bands like Spyro Gyra, The Rippingtons, or Down To The Bone grab your ear, you'll dig the cool musicality of East of West.


East of West is more than just a band name, but rather the story of two artists with one vision - to create “feel good” music!

Steve Jeffrey, bassist, and John Cardoso, drummer, are the co-writers and producers who create the magic behind East of West. Crossing Borders, a collection of life-inspired jazz, features performances by world-renowned musicians: Andy Suzuki (David Benoit, Kilauea, Dave Brubeck, Chick Corea), Ron Pedley (Barry Manilow, Air Supply, Kombo), and Bob Fernandez (Barry Manilow, Frank Zappa, Dionne Warwick, Tito Puente).

Crossing Borders packs a roller coaster ride of high-energy rhythms, sharp turning peaks of fusion, and smooth melodic transitions that effortlessly move the listener across a wide-ranging sonic landscape of contemporary jazz.

At the time of production Steve resided in Boston while John was living in Los Angeles, hence the synergistic name East of West. These two long-time friends reunited in Boston to embark and collaborate on their musical aspirations and unique writing styles. Subsequently, Steve and John rejoined in Los Angeles to record and produce Crossing Borders at The Complex Recording Studios.

Three weeks into East of West’s first radio
Steve Jeffery is a graduate of Boston’s Berklee College of Music, John Cardoso is a graduate from both the Grove School of Music and Five Towns College, with each of them majoring in Composition and Performance.

East of West - where visions and dreams infuse to become an inspirational reality.


East of West - Crossing Borders, was among the “Most Added” on the music industry hub Smoothjazz.com. It continues to climb the sanctioned smoothjazz.com weekly Top 50 indie charts. For a complete list of radio stations playing East of West nationwide please visit http://www.eastofwest.net/news.html

Doug Maxwell, who has worked with artists such as: Average White Band, Gladys Knight, Joan Osborne, and Taylor Dayne, mixed and mastered East of West's recent single release, "Changes“, Courtesy of Media Right Productions New York, New York.

On April 07, 2008, Changes was released to R&R Smooth Jazz radio stations in all U.S major markets. The single is currently building momentum and is expected to make a strong run on the R&R Smooth Jazz charts.

Set List


1. Crossing Borders
2. Route 9 West
3. Second Wind
4. View From My Window
5. Coast to Coast
6. Twilight Mood
7. Ride the Fade
8. Changes
9. Take the Cake