Toronto, Ontario, CAN

Varying from slow and subtle to loud and powerful, Epigram's instrumental rock mixes genres to create an experimental sound that intensifies with each cascading melody.


The follow-up to 2008's "Anything That Comes to Mind" is scheduled for release on CD and vinyl December 7th, 2010. The new album, "Reverie", was recorded by James Anderson at 6 Nassau in Toronto and features some different instrumentation than their debut. While "Anything That Comes to Mind" was full of dynamic instrumental songs mainly based around guitar, bass and drums (with the addition of violin on select tracks), the new recordings expand on the band's sound to include additional instruments such as piano, organ, accordion, glockenspiel, and melodica. Though "Reverie" does share a lot of the qualities of their debut, with songs varying from ambient soundscapes (bringing to mind Stars of the Lid or Sigur Ros) to a distorted wall of sound (recalling My Bloody Valentine or Mogwai), often in the course of one song.

Although much of the past year was spent writing, re-writing and recording new material, Epigram was able to premiere a lot of these new songs at the Pitter Patter Festival in 2009 and 2010, playing both the Drake Hotel and the Horseshoe Tavern, at the 2009 NXNE Festival sharing a bill with No Age, as well as supporting Junius and Romance of Young Tigers in Toronto on their North American tours. The band is now planning a number of shows after the release of "Reverie" (including an album release show at the El Mocambo on December 10th) in Ontario and Quebec to support the new album.

Matt Barr
Brad Deschamps
Andrew Eyles
Jamie Jones


Reverie (2010)

1. I'm Sorry, I'm Lost
2. R.I.O.T.
3. Waiting to Wake Up
4. The Narrator (Interlude 1)
5. The Strangers We Are Becoming
6. Unexpected Gift, Unexpected Time
7. The Spectator (Interlude 2)
8. Fragments of What Was Said
9. Never Was and Never Will Be

Anything That Comes to Mind (2008)

1. The Beginning of Anything
2. Fear of Heights
3. Reunion
4. What's Mine Is Yours
5. Always an Uncomfortable Silence
6. Nostradamus
7. This Is Not Where We Are Supposed to Be

Set List

The Beginning of Anything
Fragments of What Was Said
Waiting to Wake Up
Unexpected Gift, Unexpected Time
The Strangers We Are Becoming

Set time: 45 minutes