Eric Fuentes
Gig Seeker Pro

Eric Fuentes

Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain | MAJOR

Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain | MAJOR
Band Rock Alternative


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"A taste of spanish media opinions"

"It is nowadays the best rock band in Spain" Ruben Romero, MTV Magazine (2005)
"The only Spanish band blessed by John Peel" Fernando Gegúndez, Ruta 66
"Huge singles" Rolling Stone
“Sober, self-controlled and elegant” David Saavedra, Rock de Lux - Diverse


Eric Fuentes (Writer, performer, producer):

- "Descarrilant" CD (Dindi, 1997)
- "VVA: Una luz que nunca se apagará-Tributo a The Smiths (track featured: Still ill)" 2CD (El Diablo, 2005)
- "VVAA: El Guateque (track featured: Flamenco (Los Brincos)" 2CD (El Diablo, 2005)
- "Bahía Paraíso" (LP, HangTheDjRecords, 2008)
- "Eric Fuentes & El Mal" (CD, Subterfuge, 2011)
- "Descarrilant (15th anniv. reissue)" (LP, HangTheDjRecords, 2012)
- "Copper & Gold" (CD/LP, HangTheDjRecords/BCore, 2013)

The Unfinished Sympathy (Writer, singer, guitar player):

- "S/T" CD/LP (BCore, 01)
- "Split/Half foot outside" 7" (HangTheDjRecords, 01)
- "An investment in logistics" CD/LP (BCore, 03)
- "Split/Blumen" CD (Maldoror, 04)
- "This living kills" MCD (BCore, 04)
- "Rock for food" CD/LP (BCore, 04)
- "The loveless curse" MCD (BCore, 05)
- "We push you pull" CD (Subterfuge, 06)
- "Spin in the rye-Remixes" Digital only (Subterfuge, 07)
- "Love athletic" CD (with "We push you pull"-2CD reissue) (Subterfuge, 08)
- "Avida Dollars" LP/CD (Subterfuge, 09)


- "The Moon Men: Greetings from the moon (co-prod.)" CD (Cydonia, 2005)
- "Icebend: Hyperventilation (co-prod.)" CD (Icebend, 2006)
- "Backflip: Dead man in Barcelona" EP (HangTheDjRecords, 2008)
- "Rosa-Luxemburg: Autobiografia oficial" CD (RGB Supports/Zeppo Recs/HangTheDjRecords, 2007)
- "121 dB: Assaig / Error" CD (GOR Discos, 2009)

Vocal collaborations:

- "Glissando*: Surplus" CD (Discmedi, 2005)
- "Jaume Sisa: El congrés dels solitaris" CD (Discmedi, 2005)
- "Rosa-Luxemburg: S/T" CD (Zeppo Recs, 2006)
- "Ghouls 'n ghosts: S/t" CD (Aloud, 2006)
- "First Aid Kit: Plaits" CD (Closer, 2008)



Eric Fuentes (Barcelona, 1975) has been known between 2000 and 2010 for his work in front of alternative-rockers and post-hardcore-poppers The Unfinished Sympathy, worldwide known to be the first Spansih band in rock and roll history to be invited by John Peel for his Peel Sessions at London's BBC. From Barcelona, the band toured Spain, USA, UK, Germany, France, Belgium, Italy and Switzerland up to 400 times and recorded five studio albums.

But before his adventures singing, playing guitar and writing for TUS, Eric had earned a solo reputation after his debut solo album "Descarrilant" (1997) which he recorded at the age of 21 playing all instruments in his bedroom in an 8-track machine. That record was also the first written in Catalan to gather some american post-hardcore/alternative-rock influences like Samiam, Afghan Whigs or Sunny Day Real State. All that gave him excelent reviews and some touring in the Barcelona area between 1998 and 1999. Far before that, between 1989 and 1995 Eric had commanded the crossover combo MadSquad, who recorded and distributed a couple of tapes.

The second solo album by Eric Fuentes would be released eleven years after his debut, 2008, in a six-month gap that TUS had for drummer's paternity. Named "Bahía Paraíso", it would feature more electronic-darkwave sounds in a variety of styles and languages, and it remained as a sole studio effort, with no tour at all to present the album, though excellent press reviews.

Nowadays, and after TUS have split-up, Eric Fuentes gathers the punch and harmonic width that always were the band's trademark to lead songs one step beyond, in a rawer and more minimal sound where poetry and subtleness rise from an aggressive performance. His third solo album was recorded late 2010 at Ultramarinos Costa Brava Studios with TUS producer Santi Garcia (also credited for Jeremy Enigk, Favez and Standstill) and released in Spain in Feb. '11 on Subterfuge Records. Featured eight tracks in english and 2 in his mother tongue Catalan, and artwork by Eric and Sergie Loobkoff (Samiam, Solea). Tour started after critical acclaim (including "Album of the year" by Enderrock magazine), including main festivals like Primavera Sound. 2012 sees the reissue in vinyl of Eric's debut "Descarrilant", remixed and remastered by Santi Garcia. New album "Copper & Gold" is scheduled for FEBRUARY 2013.