Evans the Death

Evans the Death

 London, England, GBR

From London, England, Evans The Death have released two critically acclaimed albums of post-punk on Slumberland records (USA) and Fortuna POP! (UK), honing a plethora of influences to make a sound that is uniquely them, underpinned by lead singer Katherine Whitaker’s extraordinary voice.


Evans the Death released their second album Expect Delays in March 2015 via Fortuna POP! (Europe) and Slumberland (USA). Recorded again with producer Rory Atwell (Test Icicles, Warm Brains), the album bristles with an underlying tension and veers from rip-roaring noise to quiet contemplation, underpinned by Katherine Whitaker’s extraordinary voice.

Still barely out of their teens, there’s a tremendous sense across Expect Delays of a band coming in to their own, honing a plethora of influences to make a sound that is uniquely them. Each song on the album has a different feel to it: some of them are melodic and pretty; some of them heavy and dissonant; and some of them are, to quote guitarist Dan Moss, “a bit strange”. While retaining the post-punk and 90s alt-rock inspired elements that peppered their debut, the music is more expressive, heavier and more experimental, and the lyrics more nuanced, the sense of despair leavened by sharp wordplay and humour.

The unsettling undercurrent of melancholy and hopelessness that pervades the record has its roots in the last three years, spent eking out an existence on the poverty line in Cameron’s Britain. On the cusp of finishing school when their debut was released, the band rejected the opportunity of higher education in favour of focusing on music, a decision that backfired when the album failed to take off in the way they’d expected, leaving them with a succession of minimum wage jobs and unemployment benefits interviews. As guitarist Dan Moss relates, the album is about “being in London and feeling hopeless and a bit lost. Not having any money, relationships falling apart, things just not connecting or going anywhere and getting absolutely wasted all the time.”

Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas's Under Milk Wood, the band’s 2012 eponymous debut saw critical acclaim from the likes of Q, Uncut and Artrocker as well as radio play on BBC Radio 1, BBC 6Music and XFM. Following the departure of bassist Alanna McArdle to Joanna Gruesome and drummer Rob Mitson the band regrouped around the core of brothers Dan and Olly Moss and singer Katherine Whitaker for the recording of Expect Delays. Previously songwriting duties had been the preserve of the elder Moss brother, Dan, but with Olly now bringing his own songs to the table, the brothers resolved to switch between guitar and bass on a song-by-song basis. Drummer James Burkitt was recruited from Leeds’ band The ABC Club to complete a new lean and taut four-piece.

More ambitious and focused than their previous record, whilst sacrificing none of their spontaneity and vitality, Expect Delays is a supremely inventive and intelligently crafted album from a band who have suffered for their art, and used that experience to inform and nourish their work. Expect no more delays, Evans The Death have arrived.

"A beautiful exorcism of weird noise pop." NME 8/10

"A veritable success...the difficult second album never sounded so effortlessly good." The Line Of Best Fit 8.5/10

"Expect Delays is sensational; a beguiling enigma, as street-tough as it is sophisticated." The Skinny 4/5

"The grittier end of post punk and fuzzed-up 90s alt. rock... bruised vitality and pleasing lyrical spikiness." Uncut


Threads/I'm So Unclean AA side single (Fortuna Pop! September 2011) - John Kennedy's XFM Xposure Big One, Huw Stephens BBC Radio One

Telling Lies single (Slumberland, Fortuna Pop! March 2012) John Kennedy XFM, Huw Stephens BBC Radio One, Lauren Laverne, Gideon Coe, Chris Hawkins BBC 6Music

Evans the Death LP (Slumberland, Fortuna Pop! April/May 2012)

Expect Delays LP (Slumberland, Fortuna Pop! March/April 2015)

Enabler (single, Fortuna Pop! March 2015) John Kennedy (XFM), Shaun Keaveny record of the week, Chris Hawkins, Lauren Laverne, Gideon Cow (BBC 6Music) Phil Taggart, Huw Stephens (BBC Radio One)