Genuine Hick
Gig Seeker Pro

Genuine Hick

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States | Established. Jan 01, 2006 | SELF

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States | SELF
Established on Jan, 2006
Band Rock Punk




This band has no press


Chemical Birthday 2015

Lost Children in the Darkening Woods 2014

Quarterly Report of the American Meat Institute 2013

Rock Harbor 2013

Crooked Channel 2012

Center for Enforcement of the Legal Consequences of Crime 2010

German Expressionist Rock from the Weimar Republic 2009

Amalgam (with Brad Benge) 2009

Current Problems in Animal Behavior 2007

Genuine Hick (self-titled debut album)



Genuine Hick is an Oklahoma City based art rock band whose music has been described by Dallas based mastering engineer George Geurin as a “harrowing, kaleidoscopic brew of exquisite insanity.” Analogies to Genuine Hick’s sound are difficult to pinpoint, but clear influences from acts as disparate as The Ramones, Lou Reed, The Pixies and Leonard Cohen can be detected.

Formed by frontman John Noerdlinger in 2006, Genuine Hick has produced 5 albums and 4 EPs.  Brad Benge also produced a separate album called "Amalgam" which interprets some of John's tunes.  The most recent Genuine Hick project was the raucous "Chemical Birthday" EP released in the winter of 2015.  Please see Victor Rook's outrageous video for the EP's opening track, "Mrs. Brown." In the Fall of 2014 the band released the haunting "Lost Children in the Darkening Woods" EP.  In 2013, Genuine Hick released the subdued, Gregg Standridge produced "Rock Harbor" EP and the mood-disordered, Scott Keeton produced "Quarterly Report of the American Meat Institute" EP.  

Scott's work has been a constant throughout Genuine Hick's evolution and he has produced 4 of the projects.  In recent years, Gregg has been a key collaborator conceiving new songs.  Other musicians who have been essential to Genuine Hick are James Keys, Victor Rook, Mike Myers, Rick Toops, Chuck Baker, Paige Harwell and Ryan Jones.

Also, please take a gander at Ben Lindesmith's cool 2015 video for the song "Please" from the "Rock Harbor" EP.

Band Members