Gig Seeker Pro



Band Metal Alternative


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


E.p coming soon!



Gryllus began in 2008 with four members under the name Hot For Skippy. Vocalist Stefan Stolarik, guitarists Victor Poelman and Jared Alvear, and drummer Wayne Pombert II came together to initially form the band. For a short period of time, bassist Michael Doyle played with the band, but after his departure the band performed without bass for months, with the exception of a few. After playing a multitude of shows around the Chicagoland area, they were introduced to many local bands. Among these bands, multi-instrumentalist Derek Garcia met HFS and joined on as bassist.

After six months of performing around the Midwest region, Derek departed the band, leaving them once again without a bassist. Another six months would pass, and Garcia would rejoin once again this time as a vocalist. Brought along from Derek's previous band was bassist Adam McLinn.

During the Spring of 2012, both Stefan and Victor split ways with HFS, leaving way for Derek to become the sole vocalist. Friend of the band and ex-Eyes of Malice guitarist Bijan Jackson would fill the guitar position.The rotation of members and progression of the bands sound from standard metalcore to more experimental depths prompted a change in the name, and thus Gryllus was born.

Through their 5 year tenure, the band has headlined local shows and opened for many national acts, among them: Norma Jean, Born of Osiris, Diecast, The Faceless, It Dies Today, Veil of Maya, and Arsonists Get All the Girls.

Active Members
Wayne Pombert II (drums, 2008 - )
Jared Alvear (guitars, 2008 - )
Derek Garcia (bass, 2010 - 2011, vocals, 2011 - )
Adam McLinn (bass, 2011 - )

Previous Members
Stefan Stolarik (vocals, 2008 - 2012)
Victor Poelman (guitars, 2008 - 2012)
Michael Doyle (bass, 2008)
Rick Lancaster (bass, 2010)
Matthew Kocanda (keyboards/vocals, 2012 -2013)
Bijan Jackson (guitars, 2012 -2013 )