Gig Seeker Pro


Trenton, Tennessee, United States | SELF

Trenton, Tennessee, United States | SELF
Band Rock Folk


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


Nothingness (2010)

1. Make Love Not Sense
2. Next Year's Blues
3. Tengo Que Va
4. Somewhere I Don't Want to Be
5. Comfort of Living
6. Simple Appreciation of a Good Woman
7. Be a Rock
8. Loneoak
9. Breaking Rank
10. An Epic Poem
11. Wild Blue



Having grown up together in the comatose town of Trenton, Tennessee, Garrett Hinson, Alex Jones, and Brice Watson accidentally formed Hockaday out of pure restlessness. Surrounded by tractor pulls and livestock auctions in high school, the trio retreated into Hinson's attic with their Bright Eyes, CCR, and White Stripes records, dreaming of rock & roll. They were together from the beginning, from buying their first guitars to their first gigs at local coffee shops.

Watson and Jones form a tight, driving rhythm section that rattles roof beams, while Hinson emerges as the poet, writing with an intense honesty that bleeds through into live shows. With their first album, "Nothingness", released in early 2010, the group has been playing throughout Tennessee, blowing into town in a red pickup packed with equipment, tearing through ferocious sets of indie-rock, folk, and blues, and then doing it all over again the next night, still the same three boys as before, hiding from those small-town blues and playing as hard as they can.