Hot Monkey Love

Hot Monkey Love

 New York City, New York, USA

With their blend of blues, rock, funk and soul, Hot Monkey Love always gets a crowd shaking -- these seasoned pros can play! Available for festivals and touring as well as local gigs. All you need is love, Hot Monkey Love! Contact: Rafael Fuentes, Fountainbleu Entertainment, 718-296-8122


All you need is love, Hot Monkey Love!
Jack O'Neill: vocals; Devious Dee Meyer: guitar; Jumpin' Jordan Lee: bass; Eddie "The Elf" Pietrowski: drums.

Founded in 2003 by the late Frankie "Spider" LaRocka (rock-solid drummer who played with Bon Jovi, Bryan Adams, Noel Redding, David Johansen, Scandal, and others), Hot Monkey Love have developed into a tight four piece band with additional pro musicians (keyboards, guitars, horn section, background vox) added as needed for higher profile gigs. (After performing with Julian Lennon, Spider got the name for the band from actor James Earl Jones while backstage at the Night Of 100 Stars at Radio City Music Hall -- but that's another story!)

The band's debut release from 2004, "Primate Blues," is currently the number 2 top-selling blues-rock CD on CD Baby. Joined on three tracks by Bowie guitarist, Earl Slick, the band captures the heart and soul of legendary blues musicians in this 12-noon to 12-midnight recording.

Their 2007 follow-up CD, "Speakin' Evil," is currently ranked number 19 (with a bullet!) on the top-selling blues-rock CDs on CD Baby. With this release, the band has raised the temperature to scorching! Surviving the loss in 2005 of founder and original member, FRANKIE “SPIDER” LAROCKA (pro rock-steady drummer, producer and influential A&R exec), remaining members JACK O’NEILL (vocals) and JUMPIN’ JORDAN LEE (bass) took the initial seven tracks which Frankie had recorded with the band in 2005 and, working with genius producer/musician ANTHONY KRIZAN (multiple guitars, b/vocals, and remaining drum tracks), managed to produce a record far-exceeding anyone’s expectations. Initial tracks were recorded on 24 track analog tape with added tracks and mixing done in Pro-Tools at Anthony’s Sonic Boom Studios in Raritan, NJ.

In addition to the impassioned, soulful vocals of JACK O’NEILL, this record features an incredible line-up of guitar luminaries who each blaze their way through some of the most amazing guitar solos and rhythm tracks you’ll ever hear. Featured on four tracks (#2, 4, 6, 8), EARL SLICK (David Bowie Band, John Lennon) soars on electric, slide and acoustic guitars, and also contributes his own arrangement of Hendrix’s “Angel” as a tribute to his old friend, Frankie LaRocka. ARTHUR NEILSON (Shemekia Copeland Band) rips the roof off the blues genre with his unparalleled, expressive guitar style on three tracks (#1, 4, 10). ANTHONY KRIZAN (Amfibian, Spin Doctors, Lenny Kravitz) not only lays down the remaining live drum tracks, but offers up some transcendant guitar tracks throughout the record. And JIMMY BENNETT (Alexis P. Suter, Levon Helm) picks his Fender Telecaster and 1935 Rickenbacker lap steel in his rootsy, Allmans-esque style on two tracks (#9, 11).

Rounding out the smooth, deep-pocket, bass grooves of original monk JUMPIN’ JORDAN LEE are an array of other notable industry talents. Coming off of her performance as Mimi in “Rent,” ANTONIQUE SMITH, with her gospel-tinged, r&b voice, nails the harmony and background vocals on two tracks (#3, 6), including a special Hot Monkey Love arrangement of Alicia Keys’ contemporary classic “Fallin’.” Also offering unforgettable performances are: ARNE WENDT on the Hammond B-3 organ and piano, DAVE RUNYAN (James Cotton Band) on the blues harp, MIKE KRIZAN on a scorching slide guitar solo (#4), BOB DEL ROSSO on guitar, ROB CLORES (Black Crowes) on the Hammond B-3 organ, and, on background vocals: KARAN SERAFIN, CC COLETTI (Meat Loaf), and KAREN COLETTI.

The band is currently writing music for their next record which promises to take them to a whole new level in the music industry. Stay tuned and spread the Love!


"Primate Blues" 2004 (HML Records)
"Speakin' Evil" 2007 (BrotherMonk Records)

Set List

From "Primate Blues":
Boom Boom
Tear Your Playhouse Down
Shame, Shame, Shame
Me & The Devil
Cross-Eyed Cat
Champagne & Reefer
Rockin Daddy
I’m Ready
King Bee
99 Pounds

From "Speakin' Evil":
Palace Of The King
My Confession
Come On In This House
Weight Off My Shoulders
More You Lie To Me
Speakin’ Evil
3 O’Clock Blues
Stop Breakin Down
I've Been Lovin’ You Too Long

Walkin’ The Dog
Dust My Broom
It Hurts Me Too
Cross-cut Saw
Mannish Boy
(Hold On) I’m Coming
Route 66
The Thrill Is Gone
I Feel Good
Cold Sweat
Shakey Ground
Hard To Handle
Going Down
Rock Me Baby
Lil’ Queenie
Oh Carol
Mustang Sally
Little Wing
Red House
Red Rooster
One Way Out
Trouble No More
Pride & Joy
Not Fade Away
It’s All Over Now
Love In Vain
Sympathy For The Devil
Stray Cat Blues
Honky Tonk Woman
Brown Sugar
Live With Me
Dead Flowers
Spider & The Fly
Can’t Always Get What U Want
The Last Time