ice jupiter groove
Gig Seeker Pro

ice jupiter groove

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia | INDIE

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia | INDIE
Band Rock Pop




""New Single- Nothing Ever Happens" Reiewed by"

Talented artist, Ice Jupiter Groove, releases a fantastic new rock single, “Nothing Ever Happens.” This song grooves with a somber tonality and easily sets a toned down mood. The vocals are soft and emotive and will hypnotize you with some intense melodic lyrics. When you listen to the expressive vocals, it is like a flashback to the days of psychedelic Rock, mostly reminiscent of John Lennon and the Beatles. The acoustic guitar and sweet strings meld together to cast off a warm ambient sound as the drums keep a solid beat. This single has a catchy riff that draws you in to this thought provoking song. If you are a fan of Coldplay or The Beatles, then you will really enjoy the single, “Nothing Ever Happens.”
-Diane and the Reviewer Team - RadioIndy

"hakamike's Ice Jupiter Groove review"

The incredible similarity of sound and style to the sounds of the Eighties has been unerringly carried forward into the music of Ice Jupiter Groove today. It is unlikely a modern young band could recreate this soaring percussive synth rock sound with any real integrity. It's almost as if these guys just stepped through a portal from Australia's golden years of music to blow us all over in an instant.

I am taken away on a journey every time I throw on the headphones and crank the volume to AC/DC appreciation levels. The smooth clean crispness of Ice Jupiter Groove's rhythmic melodies belies the solid thumping basslines in an uncopyable fashion that just does not exist in modern Australian music. The best news is Sean and James are actively encouraging people to freely download and share their music right now in order to create some impetus for a planned tour of the States later this year.

I'd strongly suggest you go ahead and grab a few tracks and share them around with your friends to spread the great sound that is Ice Jupiter Groove.
- hakamike


Ice Jupiter Groove (self titled 1995)
1: Tapestry of Love
2: Big Blue
3: Foundation
4: Watching the Rain
5: Healing
6: Someone Else's Dream

Well Lived Room (1998)
1: Well Lived Room
2: Eden
3: Faces in The Street
4: Pain & Sick Activity
5: Salvation
6: Eden (core of the earth mix)

Faces In The Street (2012)
[still in production]
1: No Excuses
2: Ghost Train
3: Moments
4: Faces In The Street
5: Nothing Ever Happens
6: Shine
7: Don't Cry To Me



Ice Jupiter Groove are a songwriting team from Sydney, Australia with the nucleus consisting of brothers Sean & James Lee.
James has been writing songs since his late teens in the mid-80's. Playing drums at first with a few covers bands including an Australian Bush-Folk/Rock band with his late-father and uncle.
It was when a friend loaned James a Korg Poly800 synth and a 4 track recorder that he started to experiment with writing music. In the late 80's James met up with guitarist Mark Southeron (now Tokyo507) and they together discovered the power of midi and sequencing which eventually led them to singer Hayden Turner and the band 'Field of Mars' was born.
Field of Mars, although short lived, was building quite a fan base and was catching the attention of industry heavy-weights at the time.
After the break-up of F.O.M. James went back to drumming for a while until he was at a family gathering one afternoon in about '95 and heard his younger brother Sean singing.
James knew Sean played guitar and played in bands but he had no idea that he could sing so well.
A proposal was put forward to record an album together. So James went back to his studio and wrote 3 new tracks and re-wrote 3 F.O.M. tracks for the project.
This was the birth of Ice Jupiter Groove.
The 6 song cd was released under the Nu-Town label in 1995 and was promoted via the (very new) internet by James and Sean. To their amazement it was getting a lot of airplay on the east coast USA and the email orders started pouring in. A tour of the states was starting to be organised but due to a lack of finances at the time it never eventuated. Unfortunately, due to personal and financial problems, James had to put music on the back-burner for a few years, leaving Ice Jupiter Groove where it was, to be picked up maybe at a later time.
It seems that 2012 is THAT time; For a bit of fun James uploaded a few of the old songs on Jango. Not expecting much of a response, he was somewhat surprised to see over 500 fans in the first week. This encouraged him to get the studio up and running again, make a phonecall to Sean and start writing and recording.
They are currently recording their new album 'Faces In The Street' at Studios301 in sydney which will hopefully be released around March 2012. All going well they plan to tour the U.S. in May/June.