In the Wake
Gig Seeker Pro

In the Wake

Band Rock Metal


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"In the Wake makes waves in Brampton music scene"

Brampton Music Scene - In the music business there are rarely second chances. Years pass, the industry changed and those who might have been are often left as 'never to be's'. A lot of great music never gets heard by the masses because of this, even when it's every bit as good as whats on the current major radio station play lists. Years ago I was intrigued by a band called Spank Driven. I would have placed my money on them for getting a contract. For one reason or another it was not to be. A few weeks ago at The Hype I was given the opportunity to see their new incarnation, In the Wake.

Monica, Ivy and Jen were the musicians previously in Spank Driven. There were many differences on the stages besides clearly no longer being an all-female band. "We decided to seek a new singer (either male or female) that would fully complement our heavy style. After many, many auditions, we found Allan in January 2006." The girls did not go specifically in search for a male to lead them. "Al had no idea that we were girls and we had no idea he was a guy until we met…he blew us away with his improvised lyrics and vocal melodies. We fell in love with him immediately." And thus from the ashes of one band rises another. In the Wake was forged.

What an initiation they received. After much rehearsal and bonding, their first professional showing of the new band was March 2006 at the Bovine Sex Club. "There was a really great crowd there who seemed to totally eat up our music and our old fans from the previous band loved Allan too. Things get better and better each time we play." After that first show they never looked back. They knew that they had made the correct decision to re-group and re-form. "Every crowd we've played to, since our first show in March, has been amazing. It's really exciting to see people returning to see us at each show. When we look out into the audience, the floor is always more packed than we'd expected, and what more can you ask for? It's also really great opening for good bands that bring out fans. Winning over their fans and making them like us as well is very gratifying."

They are confident in both their sound and musicianship. So much so that touring around does not scare them as it does lesser bands. "It is sometimes easier to get people out to shows in other towns because there often isn't as much live entertainment for them to go out and see as there is in the GTA. Playing with local bands that have a good draw in their home towns is also a great way to guarantee a crowd. If we can get people to come out and see us once, it's much more likely that they'll come back the next time we're in town." Maturity has taught them this.

Band members are all in their 20's and were born; it seems, across the globe. Many band members currently make Brampton their home, but were all born elsewhere. "Ivy in Serbia, Monica in Papua New Guinea, Jen in Sudbury, Ontario and Allan in Niagara on-the-Lake, Ontario."

As the band members matured and changed for a new band, so did their sound and their influences. Jen says that as a band, there is no single icon that influences them more than the rest. Their motivated by the sounds of "Deftones, Tool, System of a Down, Alice in Chains, Killswitch Engage and Queens of the Stone Age" to name a few. Each member of In the Wake has different tastes though, which run the gamut, including hip hop, country, classical, punk etc."

They are very aware of this new sound. "Recently, a girl who checked out the songs on our myspace page wrote: "I don't effin know what that was, but I effin liked it!" I think that sums it up. We write heavier music that creates moods with dynamics and twisted storytelling, and none of us are ever playing the same thing at the same time…we want them to be curious and intrigued first, and love the song(s) after the second listen."

All of the band members started paying in their teens and are in their 20's now. Their talent seems borne out of necessity, one of those natural miracles that fuel many a musician. "Allan picked up the guitar because his little brother was a natural and he wanted to show him up. He started singing soon afterwards. Ivy learned the bass because her boyfriend at the time needed a bassist for his band. Monica started out as a singer and took up drums when the band she was singing in lost their drummer. Jen started playing guitar when she was a little kid because she wanted to copy her best friend who was taking lessons at the time." Knowing the form and theory that comes with songwriting education helps only so far. It's the natural talent and emotion that writes in a connection to fans. "We've got a wide range of music education backgrounds in In The Wake…some of us are theoretically trained, some of us aren't. This mix is perfect…we know the rules and can break them. Playing what sounds and feels good is what works for us."

Having steady heads on their shoulders, they are carefully planning their next move - By Keri-Jade Ruddick | Published 10/16/2006 | Arts & Entertainment the Brampton Guardian


Waiting for the Sun and Big Black Cars (available through the band and on various on-line radio stations)
5-Song EP - Produced and Recorded by Sean Gregory of Voodoo Records. Available in summer 2007.

Something cool: In the Wake's first single, "Waiting for the Sun" can be heard at the end of this very intense movie trailer ( for the student film "Small World," written and produced by Terrence Hand of Seneca College. Terrence also produced In the Wake's first music video, which can be seen at



In the Wake has put the finishing touches on their first 5-song EP. Producer Sean Gregory of Voodoo Records has mixed and mastered the CD and it is available at live shows and through the band.

In the Wake is an intense male-fronted, female-backed heavy rock quartet. The band came together after Ivy (bass), Monica (drummer) and Jen (guitarist) split from their former all-female band and decided to seek out a singer who fully complimented their unique musical sound. Allan came to them via an on-line ad, although whether he was male or female was undetermined until they all met in person one fateful day.

Each band member has different influences and musical interests: rock, metal, hip-hop, jazz, country, classical and more. In the Wake plays original heavy rock music and the combination of all of these musical tastes can be heard in songs like “Waiting for the Sun”, which features driving guitar riffs, pounding double kick on the drums, textured bass lines, growling back-up vocals yet also a melodic vocal line and beautiful vocal harmonies, an anthemic chorus and eerily hypnotic guitar phrases.

No subject is too edgy to make its way into an In the Wake song. The world is an imperfect place, which is probably what makes it such a great place to be…and this is perhaps what In the Wake is all about.

In the Wake has been recording with producer Sean Gregory of Voodoo Records, who has recorded many great bands/artists including Cauterize, Mudmen, Warmachine, The Hellz Kitchen Show, Ember Swift and more. "Waiting for the Sun", the band’s first single, has been well received by fans (who can get free copies of it as Allan, Ivy and Jen hurl copies of it off the stage during shows).

In the Wake's “kick-you-in-the-face” live shows are bringing people in the doors and their catchy, refreshing and hard-driven songs are bringing them back for more.