Jake One

Jake One

 Seattle, Washington, USA
BandHip HopEDM

One of the few who has worked with both superstar 50 Cent and underground hero MF Doom, Seattle-based hip hop producer Jake One spans the hip-hop spectrum. He's produced music for local and national artists. In 2008 he helmed his own debut album, White Van Music, released by the Rhymesayers label.


Jacob Dutton, better known as Jake One, is an American hip hop record producer from Seattle, Washington.
Dutton grew up in Capitol Hill and moved to the North End of Seattle when he was 15. He started making music on a Casio keyboard in 1992. He attended the University of Washington and gave a tape of his music to a friend who worked in a local record store. One of the store's other employees, the DJ Mr. Supreme heard the tape, and when he set up his Conception Records label, he used Dutton to create backing tracks. The first record he produced was Eclipse's "World Premier".

His early influences included Pete Rock, Dr. Dre, DJ Premier, and Marley Marl.

He was a part of the G-Unit production team, The Money Management Group.

His first album credited to Jake One, White Van Music, was released on October 7, 2008 on Rhymesayers Entertainment, which features contributions from Brother Ali, Young Buck, De La Soul, M.O.P., Freeway, DOOM, Slug, and Keak da Sneak.[5][6][7]

He has had tracks included on the soundtracks to films such as Get Rich or Die Tryin' (50 Cent's "I Don't Know Officer"), The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift ("Jake Alert"), and Gone Baby Gone.

In 2010, Jake One released two collaborative albums, The Stimulus Package with Freeway and Patience with Truthlive.


1998 - 3rd Degree "Uprising" (Conception)
1998 - Four-Fifths "EWF (remix)" (Conception)
1998 - Diamond Mercenaries "Block Drama" (Conception)
1998 - Jake One feat. Kutfather "No Introduction"/"No Introdeezy" b/w "One Man Band" (Conception)
1998 - Kutfather "Neva Scared" b/w "Thoughts I Generate" (Conception)
1999 - Eclipse w/Arcee "World Premiere" (Conception)
1999 - Arcee "Essay On Pseudoism" (Conception)
1999 - Nomad (Da Nomadic) "Sedated Thoughts" (300 60 Degree)
2000 - Encore "Filthy (remix)" b/w "Ice Age (remix)" (Certified)
2000 - Kutfather "Hardcore"/ "Transmission" (Certified)
2000 - Mr. Supreme feat. Al Tariq "Run The Show (remix)" (Conception)
2001 - Nomad (Da Nomadic) "Worldwide" (300 60 Degree)
2001 - Arcee "The Exquisite" b/w "Supereducated" (Certified)
2001 - Boom Bap Project "The Trade" b/w "Writer’s Guild" (Darkside)
2001 - Ranahersi "Dangerous" - B-side of "Ranahersi" (Certified)
2002 - Arcee f/ Kardinal Offishall "Stripes" b/w "Primetime" (ABB)
2002 - Planet Asia "Charcoal" (Fat Beats)
2002 - Sly Boogie "Fatal Mistake" (Urban Legends)
2002 - Sly Boogie "Walk With My Dogs" (Urban Legends)
2003 - Rasco "We Get Live" (Pockets Linted)
2003 - Krondon "Feels Good" (Fatbeats)
2003 - Semi-Official "P.A.A remix" (Rhymesayers)
2003 - Rah Digga f/ Lloyd Banks - "Party Over Here" (J Records)
2003 - Encore "Zigga Zigga" b/w "Essentially Yours" (Hiero Imperium)
2003 - Rakaa "Ends To Means" (Sequence)
2003 - Vitamin D "Enstrumental" " B-side for the single "No Good" (Rhymesayers)
2004 - Gift Of Gab "Rat Race" (Quannum) 2004 Eyedea & Abilities "E & A Day" remix ?B-side of "Now" (Rhymesayers)

"Kaysarasara" feat. Estelle (from the Kardinal Offishall album Fire and Glory)
"This Is It", "Ice Cold", "Everyday Shit" (from the I Self Devine album Self Destruction)
"The Time is Now", "Just Another Day", "We Didn't Want You To Know" & "Know The Rep feat. Freddie Foxxx" (from the John Cena album You Can't See Me)
"Sick Wid' It Is The Crew" feat. E-40 (from the Turf Talk album West Coast Vaccine: The Cure)


"Wasn't for You" (from the De La Soul album The Impossible: Mission TV Series – Pt. 1)
"Moonlight Melodic Pt. 2" (from the Planet Asia mixtape The Sickness Part One)
"Memories" (from the Deep Routed album The Second Coming)
"Let Go" (from the Joy Denalane album Born & Raised)
"You Ain't Ready" (from the Yummy Bingham album The First Seed)


"Down In New York City" (from the Evidence album The Weatherman LP)
"Clean Up Man", "Buck The World" feat. Lyfe Jennings (from the Young Buck album Buck the World)
"Movin on Up", "All of Me" (from the 50 Cent album Curtis)
"Initiated (Nu-Mixx)" feat. Boot Camp Click (from the posthumous 2Pac album Nu-Mixx Klazzics Vol. 2)
"Don't Kill Me", "Fukk Kramer Radio (Interlude)" (from the Bishop Lamont & DJ Skee mixtape N*gger Noize)
"It's Over" (from the Freeway album Free at Last)
"Beast" (from the Guilty Simpson mixtape Stray Bullets)
"Resist the Temptation feat. Amel Larrieux" (from the posthumous 2Pac album Best of 2Pac)
"FK 10 (from the Freundeskreis compilation album FK 10-Best Of)
"North By Northwest" (Jake One Remix) (from the Blue Scholars album Joe Metro EP)
"Superburn" & "The Squeeze" feat. Smif-n-Wessun (from the Lifesavas album Gutterfly: The Soundtrack)


"Digital Motown" (from the Kardinal Offishall album Not 4 Sale)
"4 All My Niggaz" feat. Planet Asia, Mistah F.A.B. & Ya Boy (from the Black Milk & Bishop Lamont album Caltroit)
"Ready or Not" (from the G-Unit album T.O.S: Terminate on Sight)
"Shed Thy Blood", "Damn Daddy" (from the Prodigy album Product of the 80's)
"High Note" (from the Scarface album Emeritus)
"Differences", "I Can't Decide (Everywhere at Once)" (from the Lyrics Born album Everywhere at Once)
"Where I Been" (from the Skillz album The Million Dollar Backpack)
"Count On Free", "Blauh" (from the Freeway mixtape Month Of Madness)
"City To City (from the Ca$his mixtape Loose Cannon)
"Catapults (from the Now On album Tomorrow Already)
"Shake That Shit", "A Lil Sum" (from the Faculty album Phar From Home)


"Ballskin", "Rap Ambush", "Microwave Mayo", "More Rhymin'" (from the DOOM album Born Like This)
"Won't Be Long" (from the Rakim album The Seventh Seal)
"Dream" (from Elzhi mixtape The Leftovers Unmixedtape)
"The Return", "Wake Up", "Yah Have Mercy" (from the D.Black album Ali'Yah)
"Get Right" feat. Mistah F.A.B. & Baba Zumbi, "Seasoned" feat. Nightclubber Lang & "Cali" feat. Spank Pops & J Billion (from the Jern Eye album Vision)
"No Substitute", "Life Line" feat. One Be Lo (from the Supastition album Splitting Image)
"Back On The Map" feat. Maino (by Skyzoo on The Power Of Words Mixtape hosted by DJ Drama & Statik Selektah)
"They Don't Know" feat. Mohalyn (by Kaze (rapper) on the First In Flight