Javier and The Whales

Javier and The Whales


Javier and The Whales’ music is melting pot of rock, folk, blues and pop. JATW are a powerful trio with strong guitar, a tight rhythm section and melodic lead vocals and harmonies. JATW's songs feature lyrics that speak of dreams, ecstasies, country sides, crowded cafes, and staying up all night.


Javier and The Whales are three guys in an unlikely musical collaboration. Javier Gutierrez , Oscar Hinojosa and Jonas Quintanilla share a background in South Texas border music, their sound is as far from the border as can be. JATW's music can best be described as a melting pot of rock, folk, blues and pop: American Rock and Roll.

Bassist Jonas is a renowned saxophone player. In 1997 Jonas won a Tejano Music Award for Best Horn Player. Jonas has also toured Europe with a New Orleans-based jazz troupe. He infuses JATW with his funk and jazz sensibilities, while playing homage to U2 and Van Halen.

Drummer Oscar is also an experienced vocalist, having recorded with the Norteno outfit Inzendio (produced by Grammy-Award Winner Mando Lichenberger of La Mafia) and the Tejano Band Eterno (produced by the late-great Jerry De La Rosa of the Jay Perez band). But Oscar’s roots are as a rock drummer, heavily influenced by 80s metal and power pop bands.

Javier is an NYU Law Grad with an extensive musical biography that ranges from Tejano to gospel to radio jingles. But Javier’s roots are in rock, folk, pop and blues. Dylan and Clapton are his primary influences.

JATW recently completed the recording of their debut album, "That Light is You." The album was recorded and co-produced by Joe Trevino at his studio, Blue Cat Recording in San Antonio, Texas. Trevino has worked with David Hidalgo from Los Lobos, the Krayolas, Flaming Hellcats, Flaco Jimenez and Augie Meyers, among others.

The common threads throughout JATW’s songs are lyrics that speak of dreams, ecstasies, country sides, crowded cafes, and staying up all night. Javier and The Whales don't play border music, but the shifting border between dreams and reality is omnipresent in their songs.

Set List

Original Material:

1. Anywhere With You

2. Wrong to Love You

3. Home

4. Lookin' for the Sandman

5. Her Flame

6. I Don't Own You

7. Sunday Morning Mexican Blues

8. Tower

9. It's All True

10. Dreams Come True

1. Don't Dream It's Over (Crowded House)

2. Cocaine (Clapton)

3. The Waiting (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers)

4. Have You Ever Seen the Rain (Creedence)

5. Heart of the Matter (Don Henley)

6. You're World to Me (David Gray)

7. Crazy Love (Van Morrison)

8. Sweet Home Chicago (Robert Johnson)

9. What I Like About You (The Romantics)

10. Get Back (Beatles)