The Blues Connection featuring Johnny Hiland & Ron Lutrick

The Blues Connection featuring Johnny Hiland & Ron Lutrick

 Nashville, Tennessee, USA

The Johnny Hiland Band features blistering Chicken Pickin' and Rock with high energy instrumentals along with Johnny's Country vocals. Within the same show Johnny and bassist/vocalist Ron Lutrick also bring modern sounding traditional Blues as The Blues Connection. It is a must see show for all!


The Blues Connection Featuring Johnny Hiland & Ron Lutrick

Johnny Hiland and Ron Lutrick are back together again as The Blues Connection. It was a venture that started many years ago when Ron and Johnny met in the early 90’s as members of the The Don Kelley Band. An immediate bond as brothers was formed and thru the years they have both gone their separate ways as artists, but remained the closest of friends with the hopes of one day forming a musical venture of their own.

When Johnny moved to town from rural Maine, Ron had already been on the Nashville scene as a bassist/singer/songwriter for many years. Ron has played for a number of Opry stars like Del Reeves and Billy Walker. He has also done a number of vocal sessions. Through his work and talent he has gained the respect of the Nashville community as one of the best entertainers around. In 2010, Ron was nominated as Male Vocalist of the Year in the independent market. Ron hails from Louisiana and brings a unique vocal style to The Blues Connection. Ron can deliver a song like no other. Soulful ballads, rockin’ blues, and power driven R&B; the man can do it all.

Johnny came to Nashville in the early 90’s and was quickly noticed as one of the best guitar players around. In a matter of a few short years, he has reached critical acclaim as one of the best in the world. He has headlined the Grand Ole Opry as a solo artist twice, and performed on TNN’s Prime Time Country as a special guest of Gary Chapman, and on CMT’s Most Wanted Live. Johnny also has gained recognition in the studio playing on projects for artists like Toby Keith, Trick Pony, Rick Skaggs, Janie Fricke, Lynn Anderson, Randy Travis, and Hank III. He also has performed on stage with artist such as Sammy Hagar, George Clinton and P Funk, Steve Vai, Les Paul, and a host of other greats. Today Johnny is known as one of the top 10 guitar players in the world.

Together Ron and Johnny have formed The Blues Connection; a project that started 2 years ago and has come full circle to be a force to be reckoned with. They are proud to start performing for the winter at 3rd and Lindsley, one of the premier hotspots in Nashville. Their first self titled album is available via The cd features songs that have been spinning on internet and local radio stations worldwide. All but two songs are originals written by the songwriting team of Hiland and Lutrick and their song “Waitin’ On The Man,” was nominated for Song of the Year in the independent market. The Blues Connection brings a blend of country/blues with smokin’ guitar and dynamic vocals. They are backed by some of the best Nashville has to offer, and they look forward to seeing you at a show real soon.

(Continued Individual Bio's for Johnny and Ron)

Johnny Hiland

"I think Johnny Hiland is the most versatile guitar player I've ever heard. From Bill Monroe to Eddie Van Halen, he can play it all." - RICKY SKAGGS

Johnny Hiland grew up in the small town of Baileyville, Maine. He was born legally blind with an eye disease known as nystagmus, which did not allow him to grow up like most children. He started playing guitar at age 2, and went on to perform his first tv show at age 7. His career took off when Johnny won the "Talent America Contest," at age 10, in New York City. His father had taken him to see Ricky Skaggs perform, and Johnny immediately went from pickin' bluegrass to wanting a telecaster. As a teen, Johnny spent countless hours learning and developing his own blend of chicken pickin,' rock, blues, and swing; while pickin' in a number of different bands around the state of Maine.. After finishing high school, and 3 years of college, he moved to Nashville in 1996. Since then, he performed with The Don Kelley Band down at Robert's Western World, which led him to perform on TNN's "Prime Time Country," and then as a headline artist at the legendary Grand Ole Opry. Johnny has played on a number of records for artists like Toby Keith, Trick Pony, Randy Travis, Ricky Skaggs, Janie Fricke, Lynn Anderson, and Hank 3. He later signed a record deal with Steve Vai and his guitar based record company, Favored Nations. He released his first debut, self titled, album in 2004. Since then he has been touring the globe with his band, "The Johnny Hiland Band," and has released a 2nd guitar album, independently, called, "Loud and Proud." He has also performed on stage with super artists like Sammy Hagar, Ted Nugent, George Clinton and P-Funk, Les Paul, Steve Vai, Joe Bonamassa, G3, and many others. He loves to teach, and has his own line of guitar instructional material as well; 2 Hot Licks videos, and a number of books/cds with Mel Bay. He has had his own signature model PRS, and now has found his proper guitar home with Ernie Ball Music Man. Now, in 2010, he has teamed up with his long time friend, Ron Lutrick, and they have just released a new record called, "The Blues Connection.


The Blues Connection Releases
Self titled debut album "The Blues Connection"" released in 2008. Can be purchased via

Johnny Hiland Releases
Self titled debut album "Johnny Hiland" released in 2004 on the Favored Nation's Label. Can be purchased via iTunes, Amazon, and other locations.

"Loud and Proud" released in 2007. Can be purchased via itunes, Amazon, Rhapsody.

"All Fired Up" released in 2011 on Shrapnel Records. Can be purchased on iTunes, Amazon, BestBuy, and a variety of other locations

Set List

The Blues Connection Set List
1. The Blues Connection-A (On CD)
2. Trouble In Mind-E
3. Slow Down-B (On CD)
4. Big Boss Man-A
5. Today I Started Loving You Again-G
6. Workin' Man Blues-C (Johnny Sings)
7. Matchbox-A
8. Tell Me What I Say-A
9. Waitin' On The Man-C (Acoustic---Johnny and Ron only)
10. Nadine-E
11. You Can Have Her-G
12. Mercury Blues-E (Johnny Sings)
13. Honey Hush-A
14. Hot Potato-C (On CD)
15. Bring It On Back To Me-E
16. Hello Josephine-A (On CD)
17. Shaky Ground-E

Johnny Hiland Band Set List
1. Intro Jam-A
2. All Fired Up-F#
3. That's Alright Mama-A
4. You Got Me Runnin'-E
5. Workin' Man Blues-C
6. Double Stoppin'-G
7. Big Boss Man-A
8. Don't Belive I'll Fall in Love Today-E
9. Slow Blues-C
10. Blue Suede Shoes-A
11. Tell Me What I Say-A
12. Don't Get Above Your Raisin'-G
13. Trouble In Mind-E
14. Breaker Breaker 1-9-G
15. You Can Have Her-G
16. Honky Tonk Night Time Man-A
17. Orange Blossom Speci