Jon Wayne and The Pain
Gig Seeker Pro

Jon Wayne and The Pain

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States | SELF

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States | SELF
Band Rock Reggae


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"Save The Aids Orphans Benefit Show w/ Thee Limns, Face Candy and Jon Wayne and The Pain at Cabooze on 1/2/09"

A good barometer for gauging how good a band is - if other musicians will come to catch your show, and there were plenty in attendance this night. Jon Wayne and the Pain may be a band’s band, but the fans will claim them as their own.
- -Susio Sanchez, How Was The Show

"Reggae with unusual message: Jon Wayne and the Pain"

..The syncopations of Jon Wayne and the Pain are designed not only to propel you onto the dance floor, but to do so with a positive message about the struggles of life...
- -Michael Metzger,

"John Wayne and the Pain — Self Titled — CD REVIEW"

The three-piece weave a generous balance of reggae, acoustic blues and a little bit of everything else into a tantalizing mix... vocalist and guitarist Jon Wayne delivers each song with great passion and feeling... This album comes with The Pier's official stamp of guaranteed satisfaction. - -Pilipo, The Pier


*The Pain E.P. (2005) 6 early recordings produced at the playhouse in Mpls. by John Bailie & Andrew Misik

*Self Titled (2008) full length studio album recorded at Winterland & Wookie Studios produced by Mark Murphy



Jon Wayne’s musical journey has driven him from the frigid cold of North Dakota to the lush warmth of his Jamaican influences, with a few detours thrown in along the way. As the lead vocalist and guitarist of Jon Wayne and The Pain, Jon, with bassist Chuck Torgerson and drummer Chris Hicks, has created a unique sound that combines reggae/ska rhythms, meaningful lyrics with a set of irresistible beats. Follow Through by Jon Wayne and The Pain builds upon the success of the group’s self-titled 2008 debut album, once again showcasing their unique mix of reggae, ska, acoustic blues, and dub that fans can’t get enough of. This signature sound, referred to as ‘Redemption Reggae’ by the band and their loyal supporters. The trio have developed a potent musical synergy that translates into the type of jams that reliably fill empty dance floors. Making guest appearances on the album are Slightly Stoopid’s horn players and percussionist Christofer “C Money” Welter, Daniel “DELA” Dela Cruz, and Oguer “OG” Ocon. Minneapolis hip-hop artist Yoni also contributes to the album with a unique indie hip-hop meets roots-reggae track. Known for crafting songs that not only entertain but often inspire as well, this release finds Jon offering an optimistic update to the tales of personal struggle from the debut album that allowed fans to gain a surprisingly intimate understanding of his motivations. Now seemingly at peace with his turbulent past, Follow Through presents a well earned opportunity to look back upon how far they come while setting their sights firmly on ever greater heights to come. Summer 2010 will see the perpetually touring act working hard to support the release. This endless tour which bears no name will wind across the western half of the U.S. until further notice.