Chicago, Illinois, USA

Singer-songwriter based Rock-Electronica in the spirit of Springsteen and the sass of Lou Reed.


Born and raised in Chicago, singer-songwriter Ethan Kaulas first picked up a guitar as a teenager and taught himself to play by listening to Muddy Waters records. But his influences soon branched out from the blues to include artists like Ry Cooder, Tom Waits, and Bruce Springsteen.

Years later he developed his own style of folk/rock by playing open mics around Chicago and concentrating on his songwriting. This led to performing offers at venues around the city and encouraged the recording of his first EP, Sirens. The EP was recorded and released independently in 2000 and soon after, he moved to New York City.

After two years of living, writing (for himself and other artists), and performing in New York City and Philadelphia he moved to London, England. There, he recorded for UK-based Northern Sky Records, signed a one year management deal, and began writing songs for a full-length album. Titled 'Electric Girls', the album was recorded, mixed and mastered in 2009. The album features a talented group of musicians.

In 2010 Kaulas released the 'Armed EP' featuring 'Armed' and 'Before You Break'.

Some Venues Played:

Mercury Lounge - New York, NY CBGBs Gallery - New York, NY Double Door Chicago, IL (with Charlie Sexton) Schubas - Chicago, IL (with Teitur, Bill Mallonee, Jeffrey Gaines) Tin Angel - Philadelphia, PA (with Kristin Hersh) 12 Bar Club - London, UK Borderline - London, UK (with Chris Whitley)


Electric Girls - 2009
Armed EP - 2010

Set List

1. Introduction
2. SWW
3. Wherever My Love Grows
4. Downtown Train
5. I'd Love You
6. Happy Anniversary
7. You better be good to me
8. Absent
9. Just Like An Angel
10. Roland 808

Set: 60 min
Covers: Waits, Springsteen, Roxy Music, Tina turner