La Gusana Ciega
Gig Seeker Pro

La Gusana Ciega

Mexico City, Mexico | Established. Jan 01, 2016 | INDIE

Mexico City, Mexico | INDIE
Established on Jan, 2016
Band Rock Alternative




This band has no press


  • Merlina (1996)
  • Superbee (1997)
  • Correspondencia Interna (1999)
  • lagusanaciega (2000) live
  • Edición Limitada (2001) EP
  • Super Especial (2005) best-of
  • La Rueda del Diablo (2006)
  • Jaibol (2008)
  • Conejo en el Sombrero (2011)
  • Monarca (2014)



LA GUSANA CIEGA released their debut album MERLINA in 1996 with an independent label INTOLERANCIA based in Mexico City. A mixture of raw guitars, melodic vocals and intricate lyrics gave the band a distinctive sound that was different than other Mexican bands. The band started making a name underground and caught the attention of Polygram's label DISCOS MANICOMIO. After their second album at the end of 1997, the band went from power trio to a more traditional quartet. SUPER BEE turned out three hit singles with videos in MTV LATINO top ten and extensive radio air play.

LA GUSANA CIEGA third album was released in 1999 and was ecorded in New York by Martin Bissi. CORRESPONDENCIA INTERNA was a darker and more elaborate album which left behind their original garage sound. Now well established, LA GUSANA CIEGA recorded a live album in Mexico City and three studio songs. Released late in 2000, the single topped the radio charts in Mexico led to their previous records to be release in the US.

LA GUSANA CIEGA went from unknown indie band to well established rock band with a major label within four years. They have played at the smallest and largest in Mexico including Palacio de los Deportes, Foro Sol and Teatro Metropolitan. From 2002 to 2005 The band took a break to release their solo proyects and to start their own label NARANJADA RECORDS.

In November 2006, LA GUSANA CIEGA released their fourth studio album called LA RUEDA DEL DIABLO ( THE DEVILS WHEEL) in association with Sony music publishing and licensed by Universal Music. Recorded in LA and produced by Benny Faccone, this record has ten songs that sum up the years of experience and the raw energy of the band.

In 2008, the band records an album covering several 70's and 80's artists. The albums name is JAIBOL.

In 2011, La Gusana Ciega produces their ninth album entirely in Mexico City in their own recording studio. The album was very successful and got good reviews and critics.

2014, the band travels to Vancouver, CA to record and produce their last album, MONARCA (Monarch) with Howard Redekopp (Tegan & Sarah, The New Pornographers). This album was nominated for The Latin Grammys as Best Rock Album.

Band Members