Map Of France
Gig Seeker Pro

Map Of France

Band Hip Hop Alternative


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos


The best kept secret in music


This band has no press


2004 - Of 'Reactor//Replica', The Fargone 'In The Hills', MOF Presents 'Scenic Viewpoints Instrumentals'.

2006 - RTP 'The Accidental', Of 'Hot Lynx', Apeman 'The Evolution', Queen Anne Gentlemen 'Drunken Thoughts'.


Feeling a bit camera shy


It became apparent to the universe that it needed an ultra-sized meta-band that also possessed familial and institutional/corporate elements. The flyers for music shows should read, "not so much a rock group as an assemblage of personas". The lineage of this band, called hereafter "Map Of France", is as follows.

The name, claimed to have been derived from a depraved sexual innuendo, has never been explained by founding members Cory Burns and Matt Jackson, which has led to the widespread rumor that there is no innuendo and that the name is silly nonsense. The group was, at this primordial state, comprised of three. The already mentioned Matt and Cory, with Jesse Snyder completing the trio. Soon Snyder left, to play in a classic rock cover band called "Prysm", the remnants of which MOF would eventually absorb and put to brilliant use (the future..). MOF was then a duo, making bizarre rock-comedy horseshit. Seth Stenson joined, on vocals. Mark Chevillet joined on bass. In this four-peice setup we played many punk rock shows which tantalized the audiences with ridiculous fun appeal. Seth goes a bit nutty, leaves the group, everyone else leaves Spokane to pursue various life experiences.

In Seattle Matt Jackson (now Of) and Kevin Sotka (now Sodcrap) revive the MOF mantle to experiment with hiphop. Loads of bizarre and unpleasantly grimey tracks are produced and vocaled. Slowly a sound grew and other crew members became interested in collaborating. JJ Avery (Apeman), Tyler Polumsky (Bearded Man), Joshua Yates (Primate Ua), as well as two former Prysm members Jesse Snyder (Firedog) and Kyle Zielinski (RTP). Loads more tracks emerged. Then more members joined. Sam Cameron (Samcam), Erik Jusenius (Enkrypted), and Steve Porter (Steve-O) rounded out the ballooning roster, as well as sometime-present founder Cory Burns (Mr. Icelandic), who flys in and and does what he can when he can.

This band is a bulbous mass that seems to move as if puppeted by some other unseen force, that exists half-way seperate from any of the members personal identities or desires. Far too much going on inside the MOF entity for any of the single members to conceive of by themselves. Only in fleeting moments when they have all managed to really hit the flow could they maybe 'get' what the heck was going on with this 'band'.

Our music is we do whatever we want whenver we want to. We listen to: the Clash, Pink Floyd, Weapon of Choice, Lee "Scratch" Perry, Primus, Descendents, Aphex Twin, the Beatles, Built to Spill, Def Jux, any and all Madlib projects, Beastie Boys, Redman, Del and the Heiroglyphics, At the Drive In.

Our goal with music is to get everybody involved, going crazy doing whatever they want, collaborating with everyone all the time and constantly starting new fun and original music projects with no thought in regard to trying to hold back the flow of ideas.