Marcy Playground
Gig Seeker Pro

Marcy Playground

New York City, New York, United States

New York City, New York, United States
Band Pop Rock


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos


The best kept secret in music


This band has no press


Released: July 7, 2009
(2009) - Woz Records
1. Blackbird
2. Devil Woman
3. Gin And Money
4. Star Baby
5. I Burned The Bed
6. Irene
7. Emperor
8. Good Times
9. I Must Have Been Dreaming
10. Memphis
11. Thank You
12. Down The Drain

Released: March 23, 2004
Reality Entertainment
1. Spoonfed
2. Blood & Alphabet Soup
3. No One’s Boy
4. Hotter Than the Sun
5. Rock and Roll Heroes
6. Jesse Went to War
7. Flag and Finger
8. Deadly Handsome Man
9. Punk Rock Superstar
10. Paper Dolls
11. Death of a Cheerleader

Released: November 2, 1999
(1999) Capitol Records
1. It’s Saturday
BILLBOARD 1998 - Modern Rock #25
2. America
3. Bye Bye
4. All the Lights Went Out
5. Secret Squirrel
6. Wave Motion Gun
7. Rebel Sodville
8. Sunday Mail
9. Pigeon Farm
10. Never
11. Love Bug
12. Our Generation

Released: February 25, 1997
(1997) Capitol Records
BILLBOARD 1997 - Heatseekers #1, Billboard 200 #21
1998 Top Canadian Albums #17
TRIPLE PLATINUM - OVER 3.5 Million sold worldwide

1. Poppies
2. Sex and Candy
BILLBOARD 1997 - Modern Rock #1,
Mainstream Rock #4, Adult Top 40 #4
BILLBOARD 1998 - HOT 100 #8,
Top 40 Adult Recurrents #2, Top 40 Mainstream #3
3. Ancient Walls of Flowers
4. Saint Joe On The School Bus
BILLBOARD 1998 - Modern Rock #8,
Mainstream Rock #30
5. A Cloak of Elvenkind
6. Sherry Fraser
7. Gone Crazy
8. Opium
9. One More Suicide
10. Dog and His Master
11. The Shadow of Seattle
12. The Vampires of New York



Mutli-Platinum recording artist MARCY PLAYGROUND exploded onto the music scene with the insanely irresistible hit single “Sex and Candy”, (a-then-record) fifteen weeks at #1, and a self-titled debut album that sold 1.7 million copies.
Other hits include: “Saint Joe On A School Bus”, “Punk rock Superstar”, and “Deadly Handsome Man” Their 2009 fourth album, LEAVING WONDERLAND…IN A FIT OF RAGE, is armed with songs born of an intense and turbulent period in the life of MP's main man, singer/guitarist John Wozniak. The band’s newest release, INDABA REMIXES FROM WONDERLAND, launched Sept. 28th and marks the first time an entire album has been produced exclusively using crowdsourced remixes. Eclecticism has been Marcy Playground’s signature and they have always operated outside the musical fashion of the day, giving their songs a timeless feel. So what are you waiting for? Here's a Playground and a Wonderland that demands exploration.


CD and Digital Album Features 13 Crowdsourced Remixes from Indaba Music

Hollywood, California – August 25, 2010 – Marcy Playground are excited to announce the September 28 release of their forthcoming album Indaba Remixes from Wonderland by Capitol/EMI. Indaba Remixes from Wonderland is a new CD and digital collection of remixes from the band’s 2009 critically-acclaimed album Leaving Wonderland…In a Fit of Rage. For the release, the band partnered last fall with the top online destination for music creation, Indaba Music, to offer fans the opportunity to put their own stamp on Marcy Playground’s songs by remixing them. The band then selected their favorite mixes, from hundreds submitted, for inclusion on this special release.

Marcy Playground frontman John Wozniak comments: “I wanted to make this record to show people what the online music community is capable of. I believe the talent reflected in these tracks speaks for itself. This community is thriving. It’s thriving because musicians feed on inspiration they get from other musicians. Music is not meant to be a solitary endeavor. It’s something we like to do with other people. But maybe you live in a remote part of the world, or have problems with mobility because you’re physically disabled, or have severe social anxiety, or simply can’t find other musicians in your locale who share your musical interests. Indaba side-steps these limitations, giving musicians all over the world a way to get together and create anyway, which is revolutionary. “
Indaba Remixes from Wonderland marks the first time that an entire album has been produced exclusively using crowdsourced remixes from’s worldwide community in which the winners will receive royalties from album sales. The mixes were judged by the band, with the prize being the opportunity to have the winning entries included on the album.

“Marcy Playground was very forward-thinking in the planning for Indaba Remixes from Wonderland. Their faith in the independent music community’s ability to deliver was well founded, as evidenced by the overwhelming response,” said Mantis Evar, Co-founder and EVP, Artists & Community of

Wozniak continues: “Before the contest started, most of us expected to see between 50 and 100 remix submissions, which is still a lot of music. But we underestimated. By the end, members of the community had submitted some 337 individual remixes, amounting to over 20 consecutive hours of music. Not only were we overwhelmed by the response, we were impressed by the multitude of musical directions and interpretations in different musical genres. It took a lot of time to judge the winners because every single submission deserved consideration, and multiple listens. I kept notebooks filled with observations in order to keep track of what I liked and what I didn’t. Eventually I whittled those 330 down to about 60 of the best remixes, and then took that list to the band. The guys helped trim those 60 down to 30. But then we had to get those 30 down to 13, and that was painful. Those 30 finalists were all outstanding. At the end of the day, everybody put so much love into their remixes, I’m just thankful to have had the opportunity to experience them all.”

Marcy Playground: Indaba Remixes from Wonderland [CD, Digital]
1. Blackbird (Max Kourilov Remix) ~ AUSTRALIA
Remixed by Max Kourilov for Colors Entertainment
2. Memphis (Thomas Leclercq) ~ FRANCE
Remixed by Thomas Leclercq
3. I Must Have Been Dreaming (Soundminister Remix) ~ SWEDEN
Remixed by Henning Michael Velten
4. Star Baby (Star Capella Baby Remix) ~ NETHERLANDS
Remixed by Johan Klein Nibbelink
5. Gin and Money (Ben Crea Remix) ~ AUSTRALIA
Remixed by Ben Crea
6. I Burned The Bed (Metal Monger Mix) ~ UNITED STATES
Remixed by Joel Simon
7. Blackbird (Assaf Spector Remix) ~ UNITED STATES
Remixed by Assaf Spector for Blue Jay Way Music Productions
8. Devil Woman (O