Melt Like Clouds
Gig Seeker Pro

Melt Like Clouds

New York City, New York, United States | Established. Jan 01, 2012 | SELF

New York City, New York, United States | SELF
Established on Jan, 2012
Solo Alternative Electronic




"Music Spotlight"

Indie Band Spotlight - Indie Minded

"Discover New Music"

Artists You Should Know About - Music Inform

"New Video / Free Mp3: MELT LIKE CLOUDS – “Slopes” (Electronic / Experimental)"

Ryan Cantz is the artist behind experimental electronic outfit Melt Like Clouds out of New York. Mysterious things start to happen in Melt Like Cloud’s video for “Slopes” when a painted box is discovered from out of the ocean. Also see the best use of a LCD TV screen and how to effectively destroy it for better / more interesting purposes. - Indie Underground


In today’s society just having great music is hardly enough anymore. People want to be entertained by a full experience. This encompasses audio, visual, and even psychological. When an artist can enter all these spaces in a potential fan’s attention there will be a connection. An artist that really seems to get this is our latest find Melt Like Clouds.

This project is the warped brainchild of Ryan Cantz. The New Yorker experiments with all types of noise, sounds, percussion, guitars, bass, pianos and synths. This combination of music allows Melt Like Clouds to create a full experience that allows the listener to enter a dreamlike world far away from their current situation.

Although it would be easy to hide behind the music in a studio somewhere, Melt Like Clouds excels in the live arena. He has performed throughout New York City at a variety of venues, bars and galleries that are open to his exotic entertainment. The crowd gets to absorb a full audio and visual production while having their minds somewhat warped.

After having released three full-length albums over the last four years, Melt Like Clouds has turned to singles and recently sent us “Shadows” to listen to. The dark and experimental song is meant to make the listener enter another world with only their thoughts to save them. Seemingly random noises are blended perfectly together to create a full sonic landscape like nothing you have heard before.

The accompanying music video takes the experience even further with visuals that will creep you out while drawing you deeper and deeper into the dark world of Melt Like Clouds. Do yourself a favor and take a minute of silence to recover after watching the video to get your mind back to a place of peace. - Indie Band Guru


-Liquid Dreaming- (September 03, 2012)
1. Magnetic Wave
2. Scraping Space
3. Bloomfields
4. Loops
5. Sleep Teaching
6. Universal Glacier
7. Sonic Turns
8. Sequence & Pattern
9. Holograms In White
10. Echo The Kid

-Mile High Island- (April 09, 2013)
1. Shellbrain
2. Rainbow Flow
3. Black Tongues
4. Lost In The Mist
5. Knowing
6. The Depth Of A Canyon
7. Phantasmagoria
8. Dwam
9. Nautical Beings
10. Invisible Children With Mouth Radios
11. Sky Daze
12. Desire In Delays

-Sun Drip(July 22, 2015)
1. BrainTree
2. Feels Like Gray
3. Machine Speak
4. Slopes
5. Bloodsucker
6. Rays Make Night
7. Eye Wonder
8. Scared Of Flowers
9. Talking Shadows
10. Ghosts In The Weather
11. Something Special
12. Well Water

-Feathered Ends(August 25, 2015)
1. Feathered Ends

-AQUEOUS(December 09, 2015)

-SHADOWS- (March 15, 2016)

-REALM- (August 02, 2016)

-ANGEL BABY- (December 20, 2016)

-2021- (December 12, 2017)
1. Sol
2. Graphite
3. Venusian
4. Bony
5. Eclipse
6. Musk
7. Jovial
8. Tyson
9. Ariel
10. Cosmocean
11. Universe



Melt Like Clouds is the mind child of Ryan Cantz. This project explores the struggle of what is real and what is imaginary. Sometimes things feel more like dreams than reality. Taking all the aspects that frequent the subconscious, Melt Like Clouds establishes through audio and visuals how a memory could haunt the mind. These unexplained images need a way out or the internal conflict will affect a person's mental state. Whether your head is in the clouds or your feet are on the ground, how do you know what's really there? Melt Like Clouds is the gray area where a hallucination meets the physical world. 

The debut album, Liquid Dreaming, is a 10-track album full of un-expecting trances and cacophony. The goal of this album is to differentiate dreams and reality. Majority of this album was made at obscure times of the night and early morning due to irregular sleep patterns. Fully produced, written, recorded, mixed and mastered by Ryan Cantz in the summer of 2012. Officially released September 03, 2012.

Following up with the release of Liquid Dreaming, came the release of the second coming of the Melt Like Clouds chronicles. Mile High Island is the sophomore album of this project. Focusing on isolation, reclusion and living inside yourself; this adventure of sounds portrays the mindset and endeavors of a loner who is misunderstood. Written, recorded, produced, mixed by Ryan Cantz and mastered by Channel Fuse Media in the fall/winter of 2012-2013. Officially released April 09, 2013.

As the Melt Like Clouds story continues, Sun Drip opens up a new chapter to the project. This is the third album to be released along this adventure and it demonstrates the changing of times and the evolution of people. While keeping the same experimental electronic sound, this album makes it easier for one to connect to the music and lyrics. Alteration maybe challenging from some but the best stories begin at another's end. Fully produced, written, recorded, mixed and mastered by Ryan Cantz in the winter/spring of 2014. Officially released July 22, 2014. 

In order to illustrate the Melt Like Clouds notion even more, a video for the "Sun Drip" single SLOPES was created. The video brings a story to the project and helps a viewer grasp the vision of the music and eloquence of the work. An isolated artist finds himself on a search to discover a mask but the mask and the character who hid it is all a figment of his imagination. As the first video for Melt Like Clouds, it not only aids a further understanding to the project but also shapes a new one. Directed by Ryan Cantz and edited by Dana Verdecchio and Cole Blackmore.The official video was released on July 14, 2015.

SLOPES is first video to let someone see into the Melt Like Clouds world and following that we see the first stream of illusions with Feathered Ends. The masked man flows on railroad tracks through an engaging forest and ends up at a bridge to a waterway. Directed by Ryan Cantz, Cinematography and editing by Dana Verdecchio and additional camera work by Greg Monastra. The video mirage was released on August 25, 2015.

Entering the waterway, the feathered character begins a journey through an environment of wet conditions in AQUEOUS. Floating on a raft in a huge water hole and wandering through nature's pool, the mystical being creates watery psychedelia to question whether we're just swimming around or swimming through somebody's mind. Directed by Ryan Cantz, Cinematography and editing by Dana Verdecchio and additional camera work by Greg Monastra. The video adventure was released on December 10, 2015.

After the tour of chimera with the otherworldly creature, the first piece of reality begins to manifest in SHADOWS. A man goes in the bathroom to take a pill to hopefully calm his hallucinations but amplifies them instead. Soon the visions take over his body and become real. The man turns into the masked entity that has been haunting his mind. With no way to cope with the problem, the mental state of the man is starting to affect him physically. Directed by Ryan Cantz, Cinematography and editing by Dana Verdecchio, additional camera work by Greg Monastra and makeup by Alissa Jackson. The video delusion was released on March 15, 2016... BIO CONTINUED ON WEBSITE.

Band Members