Metha Mean

Metha Mean


Five guys inspired by seven-string guitars, industrial techno and big beefy beats make infectiously dancy and sometimes weird music.


Metha Mean is a band based in Toronto, Ontario. It was founded in Montreal by Stef Caron, who set out to express his musical vision while creating an environment where musicians of all stripes could contribute meaningfully. This collective and collaborative approach is the source of Metha Mean's unique sound: people have come and gone (to sometimes come back again), weaving their musical culture into the band's complex tapestry.

Metha Mean has mined the depths of humanity's primordial urges to hammer out a cathartic blend of harsh electronics, powerful rhythms, and layered guitars. The songs deal of love, loss, devotion and defiance, painting a rich sonic landscape.

The band released its first full length album, "Open", in 2001. The album, written by Stef Caron, Raf Maliba (Angry White Mob) and Jamison Cant, was a collection of foot-stomping anthems and down-tempo, brooding walls of sound. It was followed in 2003 with the more nuanced and approachable "Unloved", an exploration of spirituality in which the band experimented with new musical horizons. The arrival of Pierre Desmarais helped introduce elements of world music and jazz to the band's already compelling sound. With Simon Langlois (Alain Caron) on drums, the band delivered a number of blistering performances.

During the composition of "Unloved", Metha Mean also joined forces with Megalomedia Productions and the band Dogwalker to produce the "VARIA 2002" and "VARIA 2003" compilations. These critically-acclaimed releases featured songs from bands in Metha Mean's entourage. The compilations served as a nexus, an identity for a tight-knit musical scene composed of bands that didn't feel quite at home in the traditional "indie-rock" circuit.

After opening for Jackalope in 2005, Stef relocated the band to Toronto, which interrupted the production of the new album as he searched for new band members and collaborators.

Metha Mean now emerges from this hiatus stronger than ever, with its largest complement of musicians to date: Dave Ledo (Freakency) on bass, Vincent Durand (At Hand) on seven-string guitar, Mr! Erik (Wiggler) on six-string guitar, and Marc Bertola (Red Chemistry, Dogwalker, early Metha Mean) on drums. In addition to the new lineup, the band remains committed to its credo of collaboration.

The upcoming album, "Yggdrasil", to be released in the first half of 2008, deals with the subject of environmental violence and exploitation, racism and injustice. It will feature incredible keyboard work by Jay Lemak (Optangle), beats by Paul Jaworski (Pulse Plant), bass tracks by Rafael Maliba, guitar tracks by Nevin Douglas (Debaser) and percussion by the great Roland Gehti.

2008 promises to be a very loud year…


Open - 2001
Unloved - 2003
Ambients & Derelicts, Vol. 1 - 2003
All of This - 2006; song released only via

Set List

Set list these days:
I Promise, I Promise
All of This
The Fist In Your Heart
Hope, Passion and Greed

This is a short set of just over forty minutes. We sometimes replace 'Underneath' with 'Lost',
'I Promise, I Promise' with 'UAI'.
'Quarantine', 'Speaking in Tongues', 'Medicine Man', 'The Killing Time', as well as the substitutes mentioned above, have sometimes worked their way into a set list.