Michelle Bonilla

Michelle Bonilla


Michelle's smooth voice is worshipful, moving, and she connects with audiences of all ages but has a special heart for young people, especially young girls. She shares her faith in a fun, unobtrusive way and her passion for God is evident through her lyrics and life.


A native of Brooklyn, NY, and the product of Dominican and Puerto Rican Parentage, Michelle was exposed to cultural and artistic diversity at an early age. Her youth was rich with Latin, Caribbean, Gospel, hip-hop and R&B flavor. Her father, a Latin jazz guitarist, played a significant role in Michelle’s life.

Making a commitment at age 16 to follow God, she became a worship leader, working for six years with her church youth group. Her life was changed when a performance at her home church caught the attention of RockSoul Entertainment’s founder Lee Jerkins. Impressed with Michelle’s raw talent and passion for God, he recognized a “diamond in the rough”.

The Lord’s providence would bring her to Philadelphia, where Lee helped develop and hone her skills. Michelle has developed into a multifaceted artist a gifted songwriter, singer, and national speaker. She has performed in the company of established artists such as Anointed, Crystal Lewis, Nicole Mullen, Out Of Eden, and Papa San. She has also been featured on Cross Movement’s Grammy and Dove nominated album “Higher Definition”. In 2006, her debut album “Phenomenal” was born.

Two years later, with a newfound understanding of who she is in Christ, Michelle presents her sophomore album, “In Spite of Me”. Michelle wrote and co-wrote the album that fuses Urban Contemporary Christian music with Latin melodies. Lyrically, the album depicts humanity’s imperfections in the presence of a perfect God. It is an attempt to illustrate that being a Christian is a process of growth and a journey of becoming more Christ-like. With refreshing, strong, and stirring vocals, she shares her faith in a fun and unobtrusive way. She talks about her real life struggles and how she has been able to overcome them with Christ.

She transparently displays her hurts and insecurities in hopes of influencing young people to find their identity in Christ. “These songs are personal stories and victories from my life that I hope will inspire the lives of others “

With heartfelt praise, Michelle declares her dedication to the One who continues to inspire and change her life. In spite of an emotional journey of struggle and sacrifice, God has blessed her with perseverance and grace. Her music encourages each of us to take a closer look at who Jesus really is, to embrace the challenges of life as tools for learning and growth.


"Inspite of Me" -COMING SOON FALL 2008

"Phenomenal"- May 2006

Set List

Michelle's set list is custom tailored to the event, venue and audience.

Track Listing from "Inspite of Me" to be released Fall 2008 (More tracks coming soon):


1. Your Show
2. This Is My Story

Here is the track listing from her 2006 debut album, "Phenomenal":


1. All to You
2. Sin Ti (Without You)
3. Oh Lord You Are
4. Your Love
5. Phenomenal Interlude
6. Phenomenal
7. Little Girl
8. Don't Stop
9. Paraiso (Paradise)
10. Daddy's Song
11. Everybody Praise Him
12. Cold World
13. El Shaddai
14. Cámbiame Hoy (Change Me Today)
15. Thank You